Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 19 of 19

    BT iPlate Speed Enhancer

    This is a discussion on BT iPlate Speed Enhancer within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I am know recieving 2.6Mb now . They said they were going to test the line for another 72 hours ...

    1. #11
      SiNGhKiNG's Avatar
      SiNGhKiNG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01925
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT iPlate Speed Enhancer

      I am know recieving 2.6Mb now . They said they were going to test the line for another 72 hours (days). Is it best to keep my router on for the next 3 days?

      This is what they sent me (via Email)
      I*have re-configured the settings on your broadband line in order to stabilise the connection. Please monitor your connection for the next 72hrs, and if you continue to experience any issues, feel free to contact us again.
      Last edited by SiNGhKiNG; 27-07-10 at 09:49 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      paulcarrm9mx's Avatar
      paulcarrm9mx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      766
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      2

      Re: BT iPlate Speed Enhancer

      does removing the bell wire make the extension not work at all

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: BT iPlate Speed Enhancer

      I*have re-configured the settings on your broadband line in order to stabilise the connection.
      I would guess they have moved you to G.DMT(ADSL1) which often works better on a line like yours. Post your new stats, let us have a look.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      SiNGhKiNG's Avatar
      SiNGhKiNG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01925
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT iPlate Speed Enhancer

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I would guess they have moved you to G.DMT(ADSL1) which often works better on a line like yours. Post your new stats, let us have a look.
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2560 kbps 06 kbps
      Line Attenuation 64.0 db 40.7 db
      Noise Margin 6.9 db 14.0 db

    6. #15
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: BT iPlate Speed Enhancer

      Quote Originally Posted by paulcarrm9mx View Post
      does removing the bell wire make the extension not work at all
      A lot of phones will not ring, however if you have a SIN compliant filter plugged in as you should this has a ring capacitor built in. The correct way of course is to either fit an NTE5 with the bell wire filter or fit a filtered faceplate.

      If the extension is dead you have removed the incorrect wire!
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    7. #16
      SiNGhKiNG's Avatar
      SiNGhKiNG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01925
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT iPlate Speed Enhancer

      IF YOU PULLED TOO HARD ON THE FACE PLATE (Like I Did )
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails BT iPlate Speed Enhancer-btfaceplate1.jpg  

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: BT iPlate Speed Enhancer

      You are still on ADSL2+, they have just lifted the cap. It will be OK as long as it stays stable.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #18
      dsldude's Avatar
      dsldude is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      295
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: BT iPlate Speed Enhancer

      Quote Originally Posted by SiNGhKiNG View Post
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2560 kbps 06 kbps
      Line Attenuation 64.0 db 40.7 db
      Noise Margin 6.9 db 14.0 db
      Is that a typing error or have you really got a 6kbps upload

    10. #19
      SiNGhKiNG's Avatar
      SiNGhKiNG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01925
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT iPlate Speed Enhancer

      Quote Originally Posted by dsldude View Post
      Is that a typing error or have you really got a 6kbps upload
      Typing error LOL good spot

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION