Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Wiring issues

    This is a discussion on Wiring issues within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi - quick query! Trying to sort the phone lines out in our house as we seem to have lots ...

    1. #1
      eviltwin's Avatar
      eviltwin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Wiring issues

      Hi - quick query!

      Trying to sort the phone lines out in our house as we seem to have lots of extensions but we only use one!

      Only the Dining Room socket is working -this is where the ADSL router is and also a phone/fax machine is plugged in. Would like to use one of the upstairs boxes but they are all dead (and should also have the Sky box plugged in in the Lounge also!!!)

      Here's what's behind the extension boxes:

      Dining Room(ADSL router here - NTE5 box)
      No wires attached here (?) however there is a green/white, white/green and orange/white cable unattached. ADSL works from here and phone line works from NTE5 socket (2345AB)

      Kitchen (presumably master socket, but line not working?)
      1 Green/White
      2 Blue/White
      3 Orange/White
      4 White/Orange
      5 White/Blue
      6 White/Green

      Bedroom 1 (Phone line not working)
      2 Green/White x 2
      3 Orange/White x 2
      4 White/Orange
      5 White/Blue AND White/Green x 2

      Lounge (Phone line not working)
      2 Blue/White
      5 White/Blue

      Bedroom 2 (Phone line not working)
      2 Blue/White
      3 Orange/White
      5 White/Blue

      So I have lots of wires but only one working socket - can anyone assist? I'm presuming it's something to do with the Dining Room wires being disconnected, but very confused! All help appreciated - thanks !!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      harpz790's Avatar
      harpz790 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wiring issues

      Hi,
      Have you fully taken apart the dining room socket? Because ther should be two wires connected to it.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Wiring issues

      Try this for a start - On the faceplate of the NTE5 connect the green/white wire to terminal 2 and the white/green wire to terminal 5. This I think will enable B/room 1. In the bedroom 1 socket you should also have a blue/white wire connected to terminal 2. This may have broken off or be cut short. Connecting this should enable at least one other socket. Can you check around and see if there is a junction box somewhere with several wires coming out of it.

      You should know that connecting these can badly effect your broadband. You should get a filtered faceplate for the NTE5.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Wiring issues

      I think some pictures would help clarify exactly what you have, you deffo want a filtered faceplate with all those extensions!!
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    6. #5
      eviltwin's Avatar
      eviltwin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wiring issues

      Hi - I do have a filtered faceplate. Have decided now to try running with one line and using a cordless telephone instead - hopefully that will improve the ADSL signal and save messing around!

      Thanks for your help in any case - if the cordless phone doesn't work I will refer to the assistance from Isitme - thanks to everyone anyway !!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION