Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Master Socket and Junction Box Issue

    This is a discussion on Master Socket and Junction Box Issue within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello Fellow SkyUsers, Just a quick question to anyone in the know. The BT line comes into my flat but ...

    1. #1
      PF1978's Avatar
      PF1978 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Giffnock
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Master Socket and Junction Box Issue

      Hello Fellow SkyUsers,
      Just a quick question to anyone in the know.
      The BT line comes into my flat but the Junction Box is underneath the uPVC Window frame and cant be accessed without ripping up the uPVC.
      The Master Socket is in a poor location fot both phone and router, I am thinking if I add a 2nd Junction box (BT 77A) where the Master Socket is just now, and run some Cat5 cable to a more suitable place for Master Socket would this hinder my Broadband speed?
      BB wont go active til next week so I want to get the wiring issues done beforehand.
      Any help will be grateful.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Master Socket and Junction Box Issue

      Sods law says if there is going to be a problem it will be in the junction you cannot get to. I have seen loads of these, it happens whem the original woodern frame is replaced and the window fitter moves the BT junction and burys it in the wall, its more common with door frames.

      If it turns out you have a problem, the best solution is to get the BT line re-routed to avoid the frame.

    4. #3
      PF1978's Avatar
      PF1978 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Giffnock
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Master Socket and Junction Box Issue

      Do you think I should hold off, see how the BB speed is with the Master Socket as it is just now in comparison to what Sky estimate my speed to be before investing in cable and another Junction Box?

    5. #4
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Master Socket and Junction Box Issue

      Did i not reply to your PM? How much cable do you plan to add, if it is negligable then broad band speed will not be affected. Don't worry about CAT5, CW1308 will be fine.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    6. #5
      PF1978's Avatar
      PF1978 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Giffnock
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Master Socket and Junction Box Issue

      Your PM didnt have any text, just seemed to be a repeat of my PM.
      Its about 10m from original Junction box to Master socket at the moment, I want to move the Master socket another 6-7 metres maximum to other side of room. Sky estimate my BB speed to be 3.5mb and I am hesitant to do anything that may reduce that further.

    7. #6
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Master Socket and Junction Box Issue

      Sorry, have replied again, not sure what happened. Use CW1308 cable and you will see no difference over that distance. The only way you would get any difference was if the cable was run next to mains cable or electrically noisy equipment. Even then doubtful, we see hardly any difference over very long runs when doing installations.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    8. #7
      PF1978's Avatar
      PF1978 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Giffnock
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Master Socket and Junction Box Issue

      I'll go ahead and use a BT 77A then move my Master Socket to more convienent place with an ADSL Filtered faceplate.
      Again thanks for help.

    9. #8
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Master Socket and Junction Box Issue

      No problem, make sure you use an IDC tool if you haven't got one, you can get away with a flat blade screwdriver but the throw away tool makes it easy & safe
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    10. #9
      PF1978's Avatar
      PF1978 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Giffnock
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Master Socket and Junction Box Issue

      I have a cheap plastic IDC tool thats still in good condition. I'm just disappointed I cant really replace the whole cabling from original junction box.

    11. #10
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Master Socket and Junction Box Issue

      Although it would be nice it will most likely make no difference(apart from neatness), assume there isn't an external DP? (although i would not touch one as these usually serve all your neighbours!). !
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION