Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Mystery of Non Ringing Faceplate

    This is a discussion on Mystery of Non Ringing Faceplate within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello people, Can anyone help out with something I hope? My Master Socket is NTE5, but due to its stupid ...

    1. #1
      PF1978's Avatar
      PF1978 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Giffnock
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Mystery of Non Ringing Faceplate

      Hello people, Can anyone help out with something I hope?
      My Master Socket is NTE5, but due to its stupid location I run an extended cable from behind faceplate to telephone using (2,3 & 5).
      Up until last night it worked fine, but spookily the phone seemed to ring once then stop, I went to do 1471 and no one had called, there was still a dial tone but now the phone wont ring when called.
      I have since tested it on the front socket of faceplate and it works fine, the test socket again it works fine, I have checked the wiring behind faceplate and its all good, but I still wont get it to ring.
      Before I go out and buy a new Master Socket, does anyone have a theory to whats going on? Mines is that the maybe the faceplate has blown and stopped ringing?
      Any help will be grateful.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Mystery of Non Ringing Faceplate

      have you tried a different phone, one of the old wired ones that you are meant to have in a power cut would be best as it could be as something as simple as a broken phone.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Mystery of Non Ringing Faceplate

      My first thought would be that the phone is faulty. Modern phones do not even need the ring wire and many with broadband disconnect it as it causes interference. Have you tried another phone?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      PF1978's Avatar
      PF1978 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Giffnock
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Mystery of Non Ringing Faceplate

      I have used a different phone, but surely if it were the phone, it wouldnt ring also when used in the Test port of the external faceplate port? It's puzzling me to say the least.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Mystery of Non Ringing Faceplate

      Did the other phone ring on your extension?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Mystery of Non Ringing Faceplate

      Lots of phones still require the ring wire, most DECT phones do not. The fact it works in the test socket would suggest the phone is OK. It could be the connection from the front lower faceplate to the test socket(sometimes the PCB goes bad) or the wiring is at fault.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    8. #7
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Mystery of Non Ringing Faceplate

      By the way, do you have an ADSL faceplate? If not then you should have an ADSL filter on this extension which if a SIN compliant one would have an in built ring capacitor, cheaper filters only pass the ring wire straight through which would suggest a wiring issue.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    9. #8
      PF1978's Avatar
      PF1978 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Giffnock
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Mystery of Non Ringing Faceplate

      The line is not BB enabled for another two weeks so I dont have an ADSL filter on it.
      The other phone did not work on extension no.
      It must be a prob;em with the lower half of NTE5 Faceplate me thinks.
      I am thinking can I just get an ADSL filtered faceplate even though the line wont be BB enabled till early May?

    10. #9
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Mystery of Non Ringing Faceplate

      You can yes, having ADSL filters on a non enabled line makes no difference, if you have a plug in filter available plug it in on the extension-the phone should then ring. Sounds like the IDC block on the NTE5 may be duff but you replace that part anyway if installing an ADSL faceplate.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION