Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast
    Results 41 to 50 of 54

    Master Socket

    This is a discussion on Master Socket within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I am sure you gave them 5 out of 5 stars...

    1. #41
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Master Socket

      I am sure you gave them 5 out of 5 stars

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      Paul1360's Avatar
      Paul1360 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llantrisant
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Brynna
      Posts
      371
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Master Socket

      Ha Ha so it was you on the phone then Isitme I gave honest & true marks as to how I felt i was dealt with
      Paul
      just been talking to o2 infact as they wanted to know How they did yesterday when I upgraded my mobile 100 out of 5 , they also asked was there anything else they could help me with and of course I said funny you should say that. They are going to ring me tomorrow as I not got time tonight due to problems i need to sort out (grrrKids)

    4. #43
      Paul1360's Avatar
      Paul1360 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llantrisant
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Brynna
      Posts
      371
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Master Socket

      Isitme,
      What you think of this then??????????
      Paul
      PS
      Set in motion my swap to o2, they said line check I should have up to 5mb. I'll await and see
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Master Socket-12.jpg  
      Last edited by Paul1360; 25-03-10 at 07:07 PM.

    5. #44
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Master Socket

      What you think of this then??????????
      Either they have swapped you to fibre without telling you or the speedtest is over-reading just a bit.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #45
      Paul1360's Avatar
      Paul1360 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llantrisant
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Brynna
      Posts
      371
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Master Socket

      Isitme,
      Yes the tester was over reading but I did check several times and it came back the same but alas my D/L Speed is still 0.75mb been reduced by over half.
      I just carried out a few tests of my own and am shocked by how much BT are out of date. They have my road distance as 3.3 miles(5.31km) and line as 2.87 miles(4.61km)
      Just drove from my house right up to exchange door and it's 2.6 miles(4.1km) and just worked out from drawings line is about the same (4.23km).As ISP's go on BT figure's am wondering how many other people are incorrect. Date to switch over to o2 has been set for next Thursday.
      Do you know if a NTE5 master socket can be a straight swap for my currednt LJU4/1A???
      paul

    7. #46
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Master Socket

      Do you know if a NTE5 master socket can be a straight swap for my currednt LJU4/1A???
      It should be. If you have shallow built in back box you may have to replace that too, but that is all. Drop View Profile: RUNITDIRECT a PM and he will let you know what you need and supply at a discount.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #47
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Master Socket

      An LJU4/1A is a DOUBLE socket, if only one line is in use you can happily replace it with an NTE5A. Remember ours have the bell wire filter which can improve ADSL performance, NOT all versions out there have this! Take 2 & 5 from the live line & connect to A & B on the NTE5. Consider an ADSL faceplate for neatness.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    9. #48
      Paul1360's Avatar
      Paul1360 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llantrisant
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Brynna
      Posts
      371
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Master Socket

      Ok Both Thank you,
      Paul
      I pm'ed RID no answer back tho
      Last edited by Paul1360; 26-03-10 at 02:31 PM.

    10. #49
      Paul1360's Avatar
      Paul1360 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llantrisant
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Brynna
      Posts
      371
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Master Socket

      Isitme,
      All sort m8 next door has been doing work on his house and his Brother in law came to move his phone socket, so i popped in and asked if he could do mine, which he duly did. So thanks any way for the help.
      I checked my Sky now just and this is what I found. Makes me laugh,
      Paul
      Feel like ringing them and asking them to increase my BB, but not sure as my switch date is next Thursday.
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Master Socket-msc.jpg  

    11. #50
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Master Socket

      Quote Originally Posted by Paul1360 View Post
      Ok Both Thank you,
      Paul
      I pm'ed RID no answer back tho
      We get an email for a PM, you have left a visitor message?? Will reply now.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

     

     
    Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION