Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Very Old BT Master Socket

    This is a discussion on Very Old BT Master Socket within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; my brother has very old Bt master socket installed in his house can i take this out and replace it ...

    1. #1
      Philco's Avatar
      Philco is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sittingbourne
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Location
      Kent
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Very Old BT Master Socket

      my brother has very old Bt master socket installed in his house can i take this out and replace it with a NTE-2005 Master Faceplate (NTE-2005) or would i have to keep it in line and connect it to NTE-2005 Master Faceplate


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Very Old BT Master Socket

      You should swap it. Although this is against the BT T&C's, they won't know or care. You will be doing them a favour. It is a very simple job and will only take a few minutes.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Very Old BT Master Socket

      my brother has very old Bt master socket installed in his house
      Does he have extensions connected to the socket? If so he will benefit from an NTE5 with a filtered face plate. If there are no extensions, there will be little to be gained. Also check that the socket is not fed from a junction box which is also feeding another socket. This is common in older installations and can cause problems.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Very Old BT Master Socket

      Note you will need an NTE5 to fit the faceplate if the socket is a non NTE5 at present.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    6. #5
      Philco's Avatar
      Philco is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sittingbourne
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Location
      Kent
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Very Old BT Master Socket

      many thanks for your replies.
      he has 3 extensions 2 down stairs and 1up stairs.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Very Old BT Master Socket

      Provided he can plug into it, fitting an NTE5 with a filtered faceplate should improve the connection.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Very Old BT Master Socket

      Quote Originally Posted by Philco View Post
      many thanks for your replies.
      he has 3 extensions 2 down stairs and 1up stairs.
      If you can take a pic of the current master with the faceplate off so we can see the wiring that may help. Hopefully all extensions wire back to the master, that way the connection should improve AND have the ability to have the router on an extension if required(although best if fitted at the mster if possible?).
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    9. #8
      Philco's Avatar
      Philco is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sittingbourne
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Location
      Kent
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Very Old BT Master Socket

      Its just an ordinary BT 68mm master socket with a yellow filter or capiciter installed, with extensions running from the master socket.

    10. #9
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Very Old BT Master Socket

      If all extensions wire back to the master then it's a simple matter of swapping the current socket for an NTE5 socket then fitting an ADSL faceplate to that (or the cheaper XTE-2005 equivalent faceplate). If the modem/router will plug into the master then ALL extensions wire to the FILTERED connections on the faceplate, there is then no need for plug in filters on those extensions. If you prefer to have the modem/router on one of the extensions then that extension wires to the UNFILTERED connections on the faceplate(any others wire to the FILTERED connections), at the other end you can use a standard filter to then plug the modem/router in OR this socket. On the faceplate 2,3 & 5 is FILTERED, A & B is UNFILTERED. On the NTE5 the incoming BT pair wires to A & B on the REAR part of the socket (these will be on 2 & 5 on the current socket).
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION