Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 30 of 30

    Issue with my master socket

    This is a discussion on Issue with my master socket within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; call sky and ask to be put thru to customer soloutions team. Little Tip - Just say you have moved ...

    1. #21
      puppy8910club's Avatar
      puppy8910club is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Issue with my master socket

      call sky and ask to be put thru to customer soloutions team.

      Little Tip - Just say you have moved your router into master socket and you would like line re-configured. I just fit my faceplate and after fitting the speed was same, asked sky to reconfigure and it went from 7mb to 14mb.

      Told them my Test socket gets 13mb which was true and hours later its all up n running


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Issue with my master socket

      I just fit my faceplate and after fitting the speed was same, asked sky to reconfigure and it went from 7mb to 14mb.
      Unfortunately the OP is not on Sky LLU so Sky cannot configure it, they can only report the problem to BT.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #23
      snownrock's Avatar
      snownrock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gowerton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Issue with my master socket

      Just checked half an hour ago and line profile is still stuck at 135kbps, is it stuck like this permanently now, have read it can take 5 days to adjust but i would expect to see some movement by now.

      Im stuffed if i need to asky Sky to ask BT something, they dont acknowledge any responsibility for anything to do with BT. I think this may hasten my move to TT LLU.

    5. #24
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Issue with my master socket

      I think we may be getting mixed up between 'profiled speed' and 'throttled speed'. The former is applied automatically by the BT system and the later is applied by Sky during peak times.

      If your Profile according to the Official BT Test is still at 2 Mb, phone Sky and ask them to raise a ticket with BT to reset your line. With a bit of luck you will be passed to someone who can pass it to BT escalations.

      If I were you I would have already moved to TalkTalk.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #25
      snownrock's Avatar
      snownrock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gowerton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Issue with my master socket

      When i say profile speed i mean IP profile on the BT speedtester site. This was last night after replacing the internal wiring:


      And here is one now after fitting the filtered faceplate:


      Still stuck at 135Kbps, and its been the same in between. How long does it take to start going up to match sync speed after the line is stabilised? I guess that time will reset now that i have fitted the faceplate and reset the router. Or does it look like i need to have my line reset?

      BTW, here are my router stats after swapping the line and fitting the ADSLnation filtered faceplate:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6976 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 15 db 11 db
      Noise Margin 10 db 24 db

    7. #26
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Issue with my master socket

      It usually takes 3 days of stability but if you keep unplugging/re-syncing the router then the RAMBO system may see this as an error and then the 3 days will start again.

    8. #27
      snownrock's Avatar
      snownrock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gowerton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Issue with my master socket

      Thanks Smithy, well as 5 this evening it is being left well alone, so ill see how it goes, going to swap to TalkTalk tomorrow anyway hopefully.

    9. #28
      snownrock's Avatar
      snownrock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gowerton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Issue with my master socket

      After 24 hours, IP profile still stuck at 135Kbps, with a sync speed of 7424kbps.. annoying! Although at the 08.30 this morning the BT tester gave me 641Kbps download speed, confusing. With the 15dB attenuation im now getting my d/l should be close to my sync speed.

    10. #29
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Issue with my master socket

      I don't know why you are bothering, get your MAC and go to TT. It cannot be worse than what you have. If they are offering up to 20Mb you should get pretty near the maximum

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #30
      snownrock's Avatar
      snownrock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gowerton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Issue with my master socket

      Well my profile has finally reset, i was beginning to lose faith after 3 days, my sync has dropped by 300k and i still only get 25Kbps download though:


      All redundant now anyway, i bit the bullet and signed up with TalkTalk on weds night... hope i dont live to regret that.

      Thanks to all for your help.

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION