Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 25

    My Stats - Would a new MasterBox and a filtered faceplace help?

    This is a discussion on My Stats - Would a new MasterBox and a filtered faceplace help? within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Fitted NTE5 today: stats ADSL Link Downstream Upstream Connection Speed 13950 kbps 764 kbps Line Attenuation 30.0 db 16.9 db ...

    1. #11
      gam3r's Avatar
      gam3r is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Norbury
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats - Would a new MasterBox and a filtered faceplace help?

      Fitted NTE5 today:

      stats
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 13950 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 30.0 db 16.9 db
      Noise Margin 7.0 db 14.5 db
      not much change


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: My Stats - Would a new MasterBox and a filtered faceplace help?

      Did you get the NTE5 from us? Not all have the bell wire filter, if you have an extension then in most cases the filter does make some difference.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    4. #13
      gam3r's Avatar
      gam3r is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Norbury
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats - Would a new MasterBox and a filtered faceplace help?

      Quote Originally Posted by RUNITDIRECT View Post
      Did you get the NTE5 from us? Not all have the bell wire filter, if you have an extension then in most cases the filter does make some difference.
      Doh.

      Nope just got it from ebay. I tried directly into the test socket - and its not that much better say ~500kbps..guess its maxed out for my conditions anyway?

    5. #14
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: My Stats - Would a new MasterBox and a filtered faceplace help?

      Easy way to check-look at this page, if you prise the front plate apart you will see if the inductor is fitted(some only have the plastic molding!).

      Bell wire filter pictures

      OR-is it Openreach branded? If it is then (1)It will have the filter & (2) chances are it was sold by a BT engineer selling stock what isn't theirs to sell!!(only BT/Openreach get the branded sockets even though ours come from the same manufacturer).

      By memory if it is an Austin Taylor version then these do not have the filter either.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    6. #15
      gam3r's Avatar
      gam3r is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Norbury
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats - Would a new MasterBox and a filtered faceplace help?

      It's an austin taylor matey, Im sure it has no bell wire filter - i guess a faceplate would do the same job?

    7. #16
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: My Stats - Would a new MasterBox and a filtered faceplace help?

      A filtered faceplate does the exact same job but in different ways(with the added benefit of centralised ADSL filtering).
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: My Stats - Would a new MasterBox and a filtered faceplace help?

      If you are not connecting the bell wire to the faceplate, you don't have to worry about a bell filter. Check if your phones ring on your extensions, if they do forget about it. If they don't try plugging the phone in through a filter.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #18
      gam3r's Avatar
      gam3r is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Norbury
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Stats - Would a new MasterBox and a filtered faceplace help?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      If you are not connecting the bell wire to the faceplate, you don't have to worry about a bell filter. Check if your phones ring on your extensions, if they do forget about it. If they don't try plugging the phone in through a filter.
      hey mate

      I have the ring wires disconnected on both the master socket and the extension and all rings and works fine.

    10. #19
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: My Stats - Would a new MasterBox and a filtered faceplace help?

      Then you will not see a speed increase, a filtered faceplate would give you the benefit of integrated & centralised ADSL filtering but will not increase your speed. Remind me-are you plugging the router into the master or an extension? If you are losing 500k then it could be the extension wiring isn't too good, unless the run is very long, but with decent wiring you should see hardly any difference if any at all from the test socket.

      If you need to plug in via an extension then this is about the best kit you can get for the job :-

      ADSL NTE2000 Extension Kit
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    11. #20
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: My Stats - Would a new MasterBox and a filtered faceplace help?

      Sorry, for some reason I thought you had already fitted a filtered faceplate, now I see you have just fitted an NTE5. As you have done this, your next move is to take your stats from the Test socket, taking the extension out of the equation. A rise there will show if your extension is causing problems.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION