Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Bt master socket

    This is a discussion on Bt master socket within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I opened my master socket up after having broadband installed to check if the bell wire was fitted, it wasnt. ...

    1. #1
      pau1200's Avatar
      pau1200 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Halesowen
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Bt master socket

      I opened my master socket up after having broadband installed to check if the bell wire was fitted, it wasnt. But i was suprosed to see my master socket connexts to the pair of wires using screw terminals. Are these o.k or will my conenction suffer because of this screw contact, is it more prone to noise etc.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Bt master socket

      There is no difference. I think IDC is used as it is cheaper and easier to fit than a screwed connection. Also there are no loose bits to drop when the wires are being fitted. The main incoming wires to a NTE5 socket are nearly always screws.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      pau1200's Avatar
      pau1200 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Halesowen
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Bt master socket

      Thanks for the reply, just trying to squeeze every little bit out of my conenction.

      Are filtered faceplates worth having, i notice maplin sells one, is it any good or should i just order one from adsl nation?

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Bt master socket

      If you have an NTE5 socket and there are wires connected to the faceplate, then it is worth fitting a filtered faceplate, provided you are going to use it. Remember a filtered faceplate isolates the extensions, so they cannot be used for ADSL.

      This thread gives a run down on the main makes of faceplates. Have a read through it before you decide to buy from Maplins.
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/cabli...r-reviews.html

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Bt master socket

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      If you have an NTE5 socket and there are wires connected to the faceplate, then it is worth fitting a filtered faceplate, provided you are going to use it. Remember a filtered faceplate isolates the extensions, so they cannot be used for ADSL.

      This thread gives a run down on the main makes of faceplates. Have a read through it before you decide to buy from Maplins.
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/cabli...r-reviews.html
      Remember the NTE2005 or XTE2005 clone both can have an ADSL extension via their A & B terminals(but still give the benefit of a centralised filter for all other extensions). Screw terminals on the NTE5 were phased out a while ago now, IDC is easier(but still do have wire cut offs if using a pro tool!) and are less prone to loose connections.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION