Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    sky splitter

    This is a discussion on sky splitter within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; i have just had sky hd installed which is all fine the problem i have is with the sky phone ...

    1. #1
      01268terry's Avatar
      01268terry is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      sky splitter

      i have just had sky hd installed which is all fine
      the problem i have is with the sky phone line splitter in place my broadband connection (02) drops from 4.7mb to 2.1mb
      do i need to leave the phone line connected to the hd box as i am not too impressed in halving my connection speed
      thanks terry


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,373
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky splitter

      The setup should be the microfilter plugs into the phone socket, then the splitter plugs into that.

      Phone socket - microfilter - splitter

    4. #3
      01268terry's Avatar
      01268terry is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky splitter

      the splitter supplied blocks my ethernet cable if plugged into the splitter
      that must be why he has done it like that then
      looks like i need a different phone line splitter or filter so they do not clash

    5. #4
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: sky splitter

      Did they use this type??

      BT Break In Adaptor & Doubler
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    6. #5
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky splitter

      Quote Originally Posted by 01268terry View Post
      the splitter supplied blocks my ethernet cable if plugged into the splitter
      that must be why he has done it like that then
      looks like i need a different phone line splitter or filter so they do not clash
      Not quite sure what you mean, can you post a pic?

    7. #6
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky splitter

      Quote Originally Posted by 01268terry View Post
      do i need to leave the phone line connected to the hd box as i am not too impressed in halving my connection speed
      thanks terry
      You do if you want to comply with your contracts T&Cs, however it's extremely rare (read never happens) for Sky to do anything if you removed it, assuming you don't have multiroom.

      The choice is yours.

    8. #7
      01268terry's Avatar
      01268terry is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky splitter

      i have changed my filter for another one where the phone point is the other way round
      all seems fine now
      excuse the rubbish pictures but the bt box and filtes are now located behind the christmas tree
      thanks for the help
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails sky splitter-no-good-.jpg   sky splitter-now.jpg   sky splitter-filters.jpg  

    9. #8
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky splitter

      Ahh, I see what you mean now, bit of a schoolboy design error with that first type.

      BTW, the grey cable isn't an ethernet cable, that's your RJ11 ADSL cable. The ethernet or RJ45 cable is the supplied yellow one.

    10. #9
      01268terry's Avatar
      01268terry is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky splitter

      it was a contractor that did the install and he put the splitter into the box
      thought they would know better
      thanks for your help again neil

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: sky splitter

      As Neil says, the TV fitters do this consistently, there must be thousands with severely crippled broadband due to this little error.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION