Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    Difference in speed between socket and master socket

    This is a discussion on Difference in speed between socket and master socket within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi guys I'm a new member, and am trying to stick to the rules so please go easy on me ...

    1. #1
      bartyslartfast's Avatar
      bartyslartfast is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STSOTON
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Difference in speed between socket and master socket

      Hi guys
      I'm a new member, and am trying to stick to the rules so please go easy on me if I've been a muppet somewhere and missed some etiquette.

      I have Sky Unlimited but don't see very high speeds. I do get better speeds using the test socket, so am guessing this is an internal wiring problem.

      Stats in standard socket:
      Downstream 3776 kbps, attenuation 42.0db, noise margin 7.6db
      Upstream 768 kbps, attenuation 27.5db, noise margin 10.0db
      Stats in test socket:
      Downstream 7616 kbps, attenuation 42.0db, noise margin 7.4db
      Upstream 768 kbps, attenuation 27.5db, noise margin 13.0db

      I have removed the ring wire, and saw speeds increase by about 500kbps. I even tried one of the BT iPlates, as I wasn't sure if this did the same job as removing the ring wire, but that gave no increase.
      The download speed of the test socket suggests that this is the speed I'm capable of receiving, but does the drop in speed when using the standard socket indicate poor internal wiring? I have checked and replaced all microfilters throughout the house, and don't have an alarm system.

      So now I'm a little stuck, and need some advice from folk that know what they are talking about, hence I'm here.
      Cheers for any help


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Difference in speed between socket and master socket

      How many extension sockets do you have and are they all wired to the faceplate of the master socket?

      Where do you normally plug your router?

      Forget about an Iplate your best bet is with something like this: http://www.adslnation.com/phpapps/ca...products_id=90

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Difference in speed between socket and master socket

      How long have you been connected? I don't think DLM has run on your line yet or converted it to ADSL2+ so I would advise leaving your connection in the Test socket until you can buy, fit and use a filtered faceplate. Your Mode could be changed at any time and if it is changed when you are not in the Test socket, you could find that your speed is capped very low and sometimes it is difficult to get your speed back up.

      You will gather by this that your internal wiring is severely effecting your speed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Difference in speed between socket and master socket

      This is why it is always good to get internal wiring in order beforehand. As above, need to know where you plug your modem/router in and how many extensions you have?
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    6. #5
      bartyslartfast's Avatar
      bartyslartfast is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STSOTON
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Difference in speed between socket and master socket

      Thanks for the feedback guys. The modem is plugged into the master socket. There are two other extensions in the house, only one of which is used (phone).

    7. #6
      bartyslartfast's Avatar
      bartyslartfast is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STSOTON
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Difference in speed between socket and master socket

      Isitme, do you mean how long have I been with Sky? If so, since they started offering broadband, which I guess is a couple of years or so now. It's only recently that I started using the internet for more than email and basic browsing and wanted to see increased speed.

    8. #7
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Difference in speed between socket and master socket

      To have such a difference between the test socket and the front means either the NTE5 is faulty(bad connection-happens quite a lot) or the internal wiring is terrible! Best bet would be to ideally replace the NTE5 AND fit a filtered faceplate. That way you have done all you can, your internal wiring will be isolated from the ADSL signal.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    9. #8
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Difference in speed between socket and master socket

      Quote Originally Posted by bartyslartfast View Post
      There are two other extensions in the house, only one of which is used (phone).
      Are they both wired to the existing master socket faceplate?

    10. #9
      bartyslartfast's Avatar
      bartyslartfast is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STSOTON
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Difference in speed between socket and master socket

      RUNITDIRECT - Thankks for that, I'll look into getting a new NTE5. Is that something that can be fitted by a dumb user such as myself? And is that similar to the one suggested by neilmcl in the post above (http://www.adslnation.com/phpapps/ca...products_id=90) or would I need both to make sure?

      neilmcl - Yes, I believe that both extensions are wired from the master. Certainly there is wall-mounted wiring that leads form the master socket to the extensions.

    11. #10
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Difference in speed between socket and master socket

      Fitting is easy, you may or may not require the NTE5, the faceplate replaces the lower front part of the NTE5, it means you then have a good quality filter and all extension wiring is isolated from the ADSL signal. Simple test for you, remove the front of the NTE5 to reveal the test socket, now try plugging a phone into each extension socket, are they dead? (no dial tone).
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION