Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Poor wiring, how can I improve?

    This is a discussion on Poor wiring, how can I improve? within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, it's my first post here so go easy on me! I've been searching the threads but can't find anyone ...

    1. #1
      chilled's Avatar
      chilled is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wembley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Location
      Greenford
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Poor wiring, how can I improve?

      Hi, it's my first post here so go easy on me! I've been searching the threads but can't find anyone with a wiring problem quite like mine.

      I've been with Sky Unlimited broadband since mid-2008. I'm using a Netgear DG834G v1 router and these are my current stats:
      ADSL Link; Downstream; Upstream
      Connection Speed; 6140 kbps; 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation; 36 db; 10.5 db
      Noise Margin; 6 db (polling shows it constantly fluctuates in between 3-4-6db);16 db
      I have seen downstream connection just above 7000kbps, several months ago now.

      My wiring is as follows:
      • The BT comes into my house through a BT18 junction box.
      • The previous owner seems to have done a botch job and there are two sets of wires from here - one leads to the upstairs bedroom which has a NTE5 socket. There is a phone connected to this (with one of those cheap filters) and no extensions.
      • The other wire leads into the living room and joins into a very old BT30 junction box. The contacts in this box look grim.
      • From the BT30 junction box, there is a fairly thin wire, about 6 metres in length, which leads into a master socket (the older type).
      • The master socket is connected to a ADSL filter (that came with the Netgear router) with a phone and the router using a flat cable. There are no further extensions.


      I am reluctant to change the wiring at the BT18 junction box. I 'd rather leave dragging an extension between the floors of my house for when I redecorate.

      1. What do you advise I do to improve my speeds?
      2. Do you think DLM caused my speed to drop from 6.5-7 to 6.1?


      I'll try the router in the upstairs bedroom at the weekend...


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,964
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts

      Re: Poor wiring, how can I improve?

      It sounds like the whole lot needs ripping out and replacing, but failing that I would move the master socket as close to the incoming junction box as possible. Make sure it is connected with twisted pair cable and with only pins 2 and 5 connected, then move the router there, ditch the rest of the wiring and get some cordless phones.

    4. #3
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Poor wiring, how can I improve?

      Really need to know what type of cable has been used, is it twisted pair? Can you take pictures?
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Poor wiring, how can I improve?

      I would remove the wires going to the BT30 and check your stats in the NTE5 box. You can use the Test socket, but if there are no extensions connected to it, there should be little difference between that and the faceplate. When you see the stats there, you can decide what you want to do.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      chilled's Avatar
      chilled is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wembley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Location
      Greenford
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Poor wiring, how can I improve?

      Just to clarify, the BT18 junction box is on the outside wall of the house. This is where the wires that lead to the living room and bedroom split up. Here's a pic of the BT30 junction box that leads into the living room:


      I'm leaning to one of two options:
      • In the living room getting rid of the BT30 and the master socket, and fitting an NTE5. Fit XTE2005 faceplate. Replacing the flat ADSL modem cable with a twisted pair one.
      • In the living room replacing the BT30 with a BT80B and the white wire that goes to the master socket with a thicker one going to an NTE5 (NTL fitted a 6 wire one that I could use). Fit XTE2005 faceplate. Leave flat ADSL modem cable.

      BTW, all phones connected are cordless.

      Do my stats suggest I could get better speeds? The noise margin seems very low, but I don't know what this implies.

    7. #6
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Poor wiring, how can I improve?

      If all phones are cordless then no need for the extension upstairs? In which case remove that extension from the outside junction box. Replace the internal junction box with an NTE5 or if you still require a junction box replace it with one of these. Then fit a filtered faceplate to the NTE5 and away you go. The cable looks like CW1308 so no need to replace with a "thicker cable". The cable thickness has no effect, it's the turns in the pairs that reject noise, if you really wanted to you could replace like for like with new CW1308 or CAT5e.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Poor wiring, how can I improve?

      Do my stats suggest I could get better speeds? The noise margin seems very low, but I don't know what this implies.
      Your attenuation suggests you could get at least double the speed you have at the moment. The low noise margin is caused either by your internal wiring, that is all the wiring on the house side of the BT18 junction, or by the poor condition of your external line to the exchange. In most cases the internal wiring is the main culprit.

      It is up to you which extension box you dispense with, if the router is more convenient plugged in downstairs, then make that the Master. The important thing is getting rid of one of the wires connected to the BT18 on the outside. This is one of the reasons your speed is low.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION