Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Problem with Master Socket and Extension.

    This is a discussion on Problem with Master Socket and Extension. within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; If I connect everything together from my master socket, including the extension wires, I get a dial tone in the ...

    1. #1
      mikewozere's Avatar
      mikewozere is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Problem with Master Socket and Extension.

      If I connect everything together from my master socket, including the extension wires, I get a dial tone in the extension line, but not in the master. However, if I go through the test socket of the master, I get a dial-tone on the master but obviously not one on the extension.

      Why is this happening and is it possible to have both working? The cables for the master socket are wired to A and B and then the extension is wired to the front plate with blue at point 2 and white at point 5.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Problem with Master Socket and Extension.

      If you just plug a phone into the main socket directly does it work? If not then the front plate may be at fault.

    4. #3
      mikewozere's Avatar
      mikewozere is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem with Master Socket and Extension.

      No there is no dial-tone. I think the phone-jack must be faulty, since the kitchen extension socket works but nothing i plug into the front plate of the master works.

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Problem with Master Socket and Extension.

      Does any phone get dial tone when plugged directly (no extensions or adaptors attached) into the master socket? If a phone is working on another socket then take that one to the master and plug it in there to test it.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Problem with Master Socket and Extension.

      I don't think you are doing your self a favour by starting another thread. All that will happen is that you will be asked the same questions as you were in your original thread, where I thought everything had been sorted out. I mentioned there that your NTE5 was faulty and would have to be replaced.
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-d...-sky-do-2.html

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      mikewozere's Avatar
      mikewozere is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem with Master Socket and Extension.

      Sorry I didn't want to carry in that thread as it now seems to be a faceplate issue. Pretty sure I just need a new faceplate though. Apologies.

      I've tried the same phone in both sockets with and without extensions. I think the lower part of the front faceplate, and more specifically the phone jack, is faulty.

    8. #7
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Problem with Master Socket and Extension.

      Best to replace all parts of the NTE5, we have had customers who think the front faceplate is faulty only to still have problems when they replace it. The test socket works which would usually suggest the backplate is OK, what seemed to be happening was when the front plate was screwed in it caused the test socket to fail, probably just a bad joint. In any case a new NTE5 will cure it.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION