Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 34

    Will a new Faceplate help?

    This is a discussion on Will a new Faceplate help? within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; So you have no other fixed extensions. Your cheapest and easiet way is to get a high quality 10m RJ11 ...

    1. #21
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Will a new Faceplate help?

      So you have no other fixed extensions. Your cheapest and easiet way is to get a high quality 10m RJ11 cable, plug a filter into the BT box first, plug the RJ11 into the ADSL port and the 3way adapter into the phone port. Plug the other end of the RJ11 cable into your router and remove all of the other filters. You could fit a filtered faceplate, but it is not really necessary as you have no fixed extensions.

      If you go this way, be sure to get a high quality twisted pair RJ11, not a flat cable one which is not much more than a glorified telephone extension.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      mondeoman's Avatar
      mondeoman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Mercury
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Will a new Faceplate help?

      Problem with that set up is that it doesn't give me a phone socket upstairs for the Sky box.

    4. #23
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Will a new Faceplate help?

      Just leave the existing extension in place. 2 wires don't take up much more space than one.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #24
      mondeoman's Avatar
      mondeoman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Mercury
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Will a new Faceplate help?

      So, could I remove the filter from the extension upstairs ?

    6. #25
      mondeoman's Avatar
      mondeoman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Mercury
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Will a new Faceplate help?

      Also, will that set up make my download speed better ?

    7. #26
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Will a new Faceplate help?

      It should improve your download speed and you will only need the one filter, the first one plugged into the socket. All the others can be removed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #27
      mondeoman's Avatar
      mondeoman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Mercury
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Will a new Faceplate help?

      Thanks for sticking with this one. you've been a great help and thanks for the e.mail tip too.

    9. #28
      mondeoman's Avatar
      mondeoman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Mercury
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Will a new Faceplate help?

      Sorry for another dumb question, what connectors do I need on the ends of the RJ11 cable ?

    10. #29
      mondeoman's Avatar
      mondeoman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Mercury
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Will a new Faceplate help?

      Was looking at this one from ADSL Nation[URL="http://www.adslnation.com/phpapps/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=118"]

    11. #30
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Will a new Faceplate help?

      That would do fine. RJ11 both ends. I don't know why they don't offer a 10m length which would be enough for you, 15m is the maximum I would use and the less extra length the better. They only offer the cheap stuff in 10m lengths.

      Maybe if you measure exactly what you need and PM RUNITDIRECT ( RUNITDIRECT) He would make one up to your requirements. He is a member of the forum and very helpful.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION