Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 34

    Will a new Faceplate help?

    This is a discussion on Will a new Faceplate help? within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Connecting to the AB terminals of a filtered faceplate will give the same result as plugging into the ADSL port. ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Will a new Faceplate help?

      Connecting to the AB terminals of a filtered faceplate will give the same result as plugging into the ADSL port. If you want to go this way there is nothing to stop you fitting a filtered faceplate to the other end, into which you can plug a router and phone. There is no need to run a separate cable. One of these would be suitable -
      XTF-68/85 - Pre-filtered Telephone Socket - ADSL Nation

      You can put as many splitters as you want into the filtered side of a socket with no need for further filters.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Will a new Faceplate help?

      NEarly got it.

      It would be a hell of a long RJ11 cable from the master socket to the router upstairs so you would need to use something like this Clarity*::*ADSL*Extensions This kit will either let you cut the end off and attach it to AB or plug it into the filtered face plate and use the box in the picture upstairs to attach to your router.

      You then run your phone cables as you have always done to the "normal" phone side. So yes you would have two cables upstairs one for router the other for the phone.

      Have a look here for the AB and 1,2,3,4,5 extensions

      Clarity*::*ADSL*Filtering...

      I have chosen clarity rather than adslnation as adslnation don't stock the adsl extensions.
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.

    4. #13
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Will a new Faceplate help?

      This is okay as long as you don't run an extension or have a fauulty phone. Will this then not cause potential problems with the router if the phone side plays up.

      Is it not cleaner to run two lines.
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.

    5. #14
      mondeoman's Avatar
      mondeoman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Mercury
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Will a new Faceplate help?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Connecting to the AB terminals of a filtered faceplate will give the same result as plugging into the ADSL port. If you want to go this way there is nothing to stop you fitting a filtered faceplate to the other end, into which you can plug a router and phone. There is no need to run a separate cable. One of these would be suitable -
      XTF-68/85 - Pre-filtered Telephone Socket - ADSL Nation

      You can put as many splitters as you want into the filtered side of a socket with no need for further filters.
      So I just put one of those onto the end of my existing extension going upstairs and use it to feed the router and the upstairs Skybox without any filters ?

    6. #15
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Will a new Faceplate help?

      If you go this way then you would still need the filtered master face plate and connect all telephones to the telephone part (nno other filters needeD) and buy what itisme has suggested for upstairs but would connect the existing cable upstairs to the AB terminal by cutting the plug off it and pushing it into the AB terminals on the back of the face plate and the adding the special extension box that isitme showed you to the socket upstairs again no filters needed.

      I do have to emphasise that although you have removed all other phone lines from the router you are still sharing your Sky digibox with one line from downstairs to upstairs so if the Sky box goes faulty etc it can still affect the router. That is why I ran two cables and kept all my voice things to one side and my router on its own to the AB side.
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.

    7. #16
      mondeoman's Avatar
      mondeoman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Mercury
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Will a new Faceplate help?

      Thanks for the help guys, but all this is "doing me 'ead in", I will have another read through your suggestions tomorrow, what I really need is a drawing of how it all should go.

      Thanks fella's

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Will a new Faceplate help?

      you would still need the filtered master face plate and connect all telephones to the telephone part
      I don't know that the OP has any extensions wired into the master socket, I think they may all be plug in type. Maybe he could say.

      I don't want to argue with you but if the Sky box is faulty enough to get past the XTF filter then it will not matter where it is placed, it is going to cause problems.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #18
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Will a new Faceplate help?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I don't know that the OP has any extensions wired into the master socket, I think they may all be plug in type. Maybe he could say.

      I don't want to argue with you but if the Sky box is faulty enough to get past the XTF filter then it will not matter where it is placed, it is going to cause problems.
      I totally understand where you are coming from. But that could also open up the arguement, why need a filter master socket if filters on the extensions will do enough. Another arguement for another day.

      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Will a new Faceplate help?

      why need a filter master socket if filters on the extensions will do enough.
      I would normally agree with that, but he seems to have extensions running every which way, filtering them all at source would be better. It is always difficult when you don't know the exact layout and distances.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      mondeoman's Avatar
      mondeoman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Mercury
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Will a new Faceplate help?

      Hi All,
      In an effort to try and clarify my wiring, I've tried to reproduce it as a picture, hope it helps.
      Thanks.
      Attached Files Attached Files

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION