Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Interference problems

    This is a discussion on Interference problems within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; First of all, just like to say hello, this site is amazing. Onto my issue.... I have a socket upstairs ...

    1. #1
      dukelion's Avatar
      dukelion is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Malden Exchange
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Location
      New Malden
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Interference problems

      First of all, just like to say hello, this site is amazing.

      Onto my issue.... I have a socket upstairs in my bedroom, and one master socket downstairs in the study.

      The master socket has extension cables attached (2 & 5) which obviously come up to my bedroom, I have already disconnected the bell wire in both of these sockets.

      The router sits in the study, with the master socket.

      However, when I connect my router to the Master sockets "test" socket (unscrewing faceplate), my Noise is about 17db (Downstream) and has healthy statistics. When I connect to the master socket's "normal" state (screwed in) it decreases to about 6.9db.

      I have micro filters connected in all of the sockets, but still do not know why I am getting interference, without the bell wire as well. I have even tried a different face plate and have the same results.

      For the life of me, I do not understand what is happening here.

      Any advice would be much appreciated.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,964
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts

      Re: Interference problems

      Is there any other equipment plugged into either socket when you are testing with the face plate on? i.e. Sky box, telephone or extension wire etc, If not and there is nothing else other than the wire going to the other socket then it could be that cable is of a poor quality i.e. not proper twisted pair BT cable.

    4. #3
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Interference problems

      Have you tried with just the router connected and nothing else in the upstairs socket? Also, please make sure that the very first thing plugged in is the miicrofilter and not some other type of splitter like the ones you get to connect your Sky TV box with.

      It's not unheard of to have a faulty faceplate, you may benefit from a filtered faceplate - ADSL Nation LTD.

    5. #4
      dukelion's Avatar
      dukelion is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Malden Exchange
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Location
      New Malden
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Interference problems

      Thanks guys.

      That's put a lot into perspective for me, i'm thinking Koala is right and its a poor quality cable that's going upstairs. And every time it's wired in, it's affecting the master socket's faceplate as well.

      Here are my stats with nothing plugged in and just the router:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3071 kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 43.5 db 24.9 db
      Noise Margin 8.6 db 17.0 db

      The only reason I'm getting this sorted is because I was getting around 8mb and it's decreased drastically, so when this new upgrade takes place, I want to make sure I have the best quality connection to get the best downstream/upstream rate.

    6. #5
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Interference problems

      Your situation is perfect for a filtered faceplate and it will cure all your problems and still allow you to keep using the upstairs socket for your phone.

    7. #6
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Interference problems

      As the router is next to the master socket then as above it make sense to get a faceplate. However, when you say you have disconnected the bell wire have you disconnected it at the master socket end or the extension socket end? You need to make sure it is removed at the master socket end if going this route. We advise to do the job right & fit either a (bell wire) filtered NTE5 or an ADSL faceplate.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Interference problems

      The difference in your noise margins indicate that your line is capped and you are loosing at least 4Mb, in speed. Your line has already been moved to ADSL2+ so you should get and fit a filtered faceplate as soon as possible to get the full benefit from your broadband. There is not much to choose between the different makes, have a look at this thread for more information. http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/cabli...r-reviews.html

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      dukelion's Avatar
      dukelion is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Malden Exchange
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Location
      New Malden
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Interference problems

      Hi guys, really appreciate all the advice.

      After adding one of those filtered master boxes here are my stats:

      Connection Speed 3071 kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 43.0 db 25.0 db
      Noise Margin 16.8 db 15.0 db

      Does this look ok? Should I call Sky to reconfigure my line in hope of an increase in Connection Speed? I used to get around 6,000 kbps before the changeover.

      Thanks.

    10. #9
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Interference problems

      Yes give them a call, tell them you have repaired a fault on your line and ask them to manually configure it. You should easily see what you had before, I would be surprised if you didn't get a bit more

    11. #10
      dukelion's Avatar
      dukelion is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Malden Exchange
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Location
      New Malden
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Interference problems

      Called Sky this morning, and after being escalated I got them to re configure the line.

      It's now at:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6975 kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 43.0 db 24.9 db
      Noise Margin 6.9 db 16.5 db

      The guy said he'll leave some option open to check the line so it tries to find the best speed available or something? It's on ADSL2+ as well.

      Anyway i'm much happier now! Thanks for all your help.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION