Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 15 of 15

    help needed for extension wiring

    This is a discussion on help needed for extension wiring within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; The way I understand it Brian is that he has 2 NTE2000 faceplates, one fitted to the master socket and ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: help needed for extension wiring

      The way I understand it Brian is that he has 2 NTE2000 faceplates, one fitted to the master socket and the other to an extension socket supplied by a plug in extension from the master socket. I assume the wires are connected to the A-B terminals of the 2nd Nte2000. What I think is confusing is that the extension socket has the terminals numbered 4 and 5, with a spare. Wouldn't they normally be numbered 2,3 and 5?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Virgin. Over 500mb.
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,664
      Thanks
      93
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: help needed for extension wiring

      No, I only have 1 x faceplate which replaces the old BT faceplate and gives me a telephone socket and an adsl socket.

      I have a cable plugged into the adsl socket, which runs to the room where the router is and terminates at an adsl extension box. Both purchased from Run-It or whatever they are called.


      I have now popped out and purchased a combined adsl / telephone extension box and will be fitting this in a moment to replace the existing adsl only extension.

      The product codes of my existing faceplate and adsl extension are:-

      BTADSLFP

      &

      NTE2000EX10M




      dog-man

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: help needed for extension wiring

      The BTADSLFP seems to be an NTE2000 as far as I can gather, you should really have got an XTF85, which is designed for extensions. Brian will let you know what to do.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Virgin. Over 500mb.
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,664
      Thanks
      93
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: help needed for extension wiring

      All done and working fine now!


      Thanks for all the advice, even though I obviously caused confusion!


      I am not all there at the moment, I feel very unwell and I was exposed to a suspected swine flu sufferer over the weekend.

      Hopefully it is not that.



      dog-man

    6. #15
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: help needed for extension wiring

      No confusion here! You had your ADSL extension plugged into the front of the NTE2000, at the other end where the dedicated RJ11 socket was you also wanted a telephone. As you have found out you can happily change the RJ11 socket to one of these or similar BT Socket, Master, ADSL Filtered With RJ45/RJ11 & have both ADSL and telephone off that extension. If you had purchased an NTE2005 or XTE2005 clone then you could have hard wired the extension into the back. Makes no difference as far as speed goes but means no one can unplug the extension
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION