Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Faceplate advice

    This is a discussion on Faceplate advice within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Please could somebody recommend a ADSL faceplate to tidy up my wiring: I've looked around various websites - the ADSL ...

    1. #1
      Blue Lou's Avatar
      Blue Lou is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Faceplate advice

      Please could somebody recommend a ADSL faceplate to tidy up my wiring:



      I've looked around various websites - the ADSL and Telephone inputs on the faceplates seem to be on the opposite side of what I'd like them to be. I think that the SKY telephone 'block' would prevent the ADSL connection fitting in the socket.



      The socket connects my Sky router, Sky Box Telephone Line and BT Telephone but as you can see it is a bit messy. It is a slave telephone socket.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Faceplate advice

      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. #3
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Faceplate advice

      A filtered facpelate is not going to fit that type of socket pictured. You would need to have an NTE5 type socket.

      Is that your master socket?

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Faceplate advice

      Good thinking batman.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    6. #5
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Faceplate advice

      That was the same set up as my folks. They had thousands of errors on their line and couldn't stream video (iPlayer).

      You have 2 choices

      1 - pay BT around 150 to fit a new NTE5 socket so that you can use a filtered faceplate
      2 - buy one off ebay for about 15 and fit it yourself in 10 mins work

      The 2nd is against the BT T&Cs and they could cut your line.

      My folks now have a perfect connection with absolute 0 errors. I cannot comment as to which route I took for them, but needless to say they were happy with the service and cost

    7. #6
      Blue Lou's Avatar
      Blue Lou is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Faceplate advice

      The Master socket is downstairs, but it's more convenient for the router to be upstairs in my bedroom (where the picture was taken).

      The telephone setup here is pretty strange. The cable goes from the pole in the street into the front bedroom where it splits up, one line goes to my bedroom and the other goes down to the master socket where a telephone extension is wired into it and the sky+ box extension is connected to it.

      The router connects to my desktop PC and my Xbox 360 via ethernet cable - both are in the bedroom with the router. I intend to connect the SKY HD box to the router too when downloading becomes available. The laptop connects wirelessly to the router from anywhere in the house and garden.

    8. #7
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Faceplate advice

      Just to clear it up, just how many telephone sockets do you have and where?

      Also in that picture you seem to have what looks like a Sky box connection, I thought that was supposed to be downstairs.

      What type of socket is the master and when you say the line splits, do you mean the outside drop cable goes into a junction box in the front bedroom?

    9. #8
      Blue Lou's Avatar
      Blue Lou is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Faceplate advice

      There are 3 Sky boxes in the house, sky+ downstairs, sky (freesat) in a front bedroom and sky hd in my bedroom.

      There are also 3 telephone sockets in the house.

      1 in hall downstairs
      1 in living room (an extension cable running from hall)
      1 in my bedroom

      In planning terms, I think it is something like this:

      Cable Entry Point (street) -> Junction Box -> Second Junction Box (which splits into two - I think)

      Second Junction Box split 1 -> Hall master socket -> Living Room Extension socket -> Sky extension lead
      Second Junction Box split 2 -> Bedroom

      It seems a bit unusual so I might be wrong about the setup.

      Here are my router stats:

      Code:
      ADSL Link          Downstream          Upstream
      Connection Speed         5019 kbps           606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 	 42 db 	             25 db
      Noise Margin 	         8 db                15 db
      Last edited by Blue Lou; 18-09-09 at 10:58 AM.

    10. #9
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Faceplate advice

      It sounds similar to what I had originally.

      Drop cable came in upstairs to a junction box which was split between upstairs secondary socket and the other feed went back outside/downstairs to another secondary socket in the dining room and on to the master into the living room.

      Luckily I got BT to recognise a line fault and they sent out an engineer who redirected the drop cable directly into the downstairs dining room, bypassing the junction box, fitted an NTE5a socket which then became the master. The socket in the living room and the upstairs bedroom were then wired into the master, the upstairs link used the existing run of cable via the old junction box but to no detriment.

      What you need to to do is make sure the drop cable gets to the master first and everything else is wired from that.

    11. #10
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,373
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Faceplate advice

      Quote Originally Posted by Blue Lou View Post
      There are 3 Sky boxes in the house, sky+ downstairs, sky (freesat) in a front bedroom and sky hd in my bedroom.

      There are also 3 telephone sockets in the house.

      1 in hall downstairs
      1 in living room (an extension cable running from hall)
      1 in my bedroom

      In planning terms, I think it is something like this:

      Cable Entry Point (street) -> Junction Box -> Second Junction Box (which splits into two - I think)

      Second Junction Box split 1 -> Hall master socket -> Living Room Extension socket -> Sky extension lead
      Second Junction Box split 2 -> Bedroom

      It seems a bit unusual so I might be wrong about the setup.

      Here are my router stats:

      Code:
      ADSL Link          Downstream          Upstream
      Connection Speed         5019 kbps           606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 	 42 db 	             25 db
      Noise Margin 	         8 db                15 db
      I would get a filtered faceplate, so long as the master is a NTE5a, because your SNR is rather low for your sync, you should get more than this,You could get around 8 to 9Mb, this is the faceplate that i use it is very good and i would recommend it. link below.

      ADSL Nation LTD.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION