Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 22

    XTE-2005 wiring to extensions question??

    This is a discussion on XTE-2005 wiring to extensions question?? within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I'm thinking of getting one of these faceplates but I am a bit confused regarding the 'filtered' 'unfiltered' terminals. My ...

    1. #1
      DeathOfRats's Avatar
      DeathOfRats is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ESALL
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet Pro
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      Alloa
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      XTE-2005 wiring to extensions question??

      I'm thinking of getting one of these faceplates but I am a bit confused regarding the 'filtered' 'unfiltered' terminals. My main faceplate is in one room but my router is plugged into an extension plate in another room. Do I need to connect the extension plate wires into a 'filtered' or 'unfiltered' terminal on the faceplate?? If it is connected to an 'unfiltered' terminal does that mean I will still need one of those silly little filters plugged into the plate on the extension plate?

      Thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: XTE-2005 wiring to extensions question??

      You connect the extension to the unfiltered terminals (they are marked A and B on the filter faceplate)
      You may still need a plug in filter if you also use a phone at the extension, but if you do not, then a modem cable (the one that comes with the sky box would work) is all you need, you then plug in your phone in at the filter faceplate socket.

    4. #3
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: XTE-2005 wiring to extensions question??

      TBH, if the only extension you've got is the one you're connecting the router to and if you don't use the master socket for anything else then there really isn't any benefit in getting a filtered faceplate.

    5. #4
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: XTE-2005 wiring to extensions question??

      You can do away with a plug in filter by using one of these (assuming you need a phone point where the router will plug in) :-
      BT Socket, Master, ADSL Filtered With RJ45/RJ11

      If you will just be plugging a router in then do as Brian says OR fit an RJ11/RJ45 socket for connection to the router.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    6. #5
      DeathOfRats's Avatar
      DeathOfRats is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ESALL
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet Pro
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      Alloa
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: XTE-2005 wiring to extensions question??

      Thanks for that. No phone at extension so will not need filter. Because Im using an extension is there actually going to be any benefit in that case? Or does the filtered faceplate help with the other 3 phones I do happen to have around the house?

    7. #6
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: XTE-2005 wiring to extensions question??

      If you mean that you have other extension sockets? then you connect those to the filtered output of the filter faceplate.

    8. #7
      DeathOfRats's Avatar
      DeathOfRats is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ESALL
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet Pro
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      Alloa
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: XTE-2005 wiring to extensions question??

      Yeah, I understood that bit, but I was just wondering that since my router is going to be plugged into an unfiltered extension socket, will this new faceplate make any difference or is it only useful to do if your router is in the master socket?

    9. #8
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: XTE-2005 wiring to extensions question??

      No they are a very good idea. The main advantage is that your ADSL signal will only be present at the extension you wish. This means that any interferance which the rest of your wiring may pick up will not affect your broadband.

    10. #9
      DeathOfRats's Avatar
      DeathOfRats is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ESALL
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet Pro
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      Alloa
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: XTE-2005 wiring to extensions question??

      Cool, thanks very much. Got all the info I need now Thanks again for your help!

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: XTE-2005 wiring to extensions question??

      It could be a bit difficult if each box is not individually wired, which would be normal. If there is only one wire going out of the Master socket, you are going to have to think a bit more about what you are going to do. If the boxes are wired 'box to box', it is not quite as simple as connecting to the unfiltered terminals. If you do, all of your other extensions will need filters. The only one filtered would be the Master socket. There would be little point in doing it.

      I think you would need to use a separate pair of wires to connect the extension you want unfiltered. If the extension you want to use for ADSL is first in the line, there is no problem. If it is not you would have to join the pair selected for ADSL inside each box until you reach the one you want to use.

      I think I am right, but Brian may have another idea.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION