Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Cable Routing?

    This is a discussion on Cable Routing? within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I`ll shortly be changing the faceplate, plus running an extension phone cable up to the bedroom, as the wife wants ...

    1. #1
      rf9rider's Avatar
      rf9rider is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wentworth Street
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Cable Routing?

      I`ll shortly be changing the faceplate, plus running an extension phone cable up to the bedroom, as the wife wants Sky in the bedroom.
      Question is, will running the extension cable right next to the electric cables cause any problems?
      Just had the house re-wired, so running the extension cable along same route as electric cables will make the job so much easier than finding another route.
      Cheers.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,373
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Cable Routing?

      Quote Originally Posted by rf9rider View Post
      I`ll shortly be changing the faceplate, plus running an extension phone cable up to the bedroom, as the wife wants Sky in the bedroom.
      Question is, will running the extension cable right next to the electric cables cause any problems?
      Just had the house re-wired, so running the extension cable along same route as electric cables will make the job so much easier than finding another route.
      Cheers.
      There is not a problem running the phone extension close to electric cables, if it is for the phone. I can only cause problems if you do that with an ADSL extension people on this forum are that I have seen are advised not to run an ADSL extension right next to electric cables. If you have to then I would use a shielded cable.

      Hope this helps.

    4. #3
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Cable Routing?

      Running a phone extension parallel to a mains cable can also cause a problem on the voice side (mains hum). It is always best to seperate the two. Using shilded cable will make no difference unless the shield is grounded correctly-if it isn't then this can make matters worse! If an internal run is not practical consider an external run.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    5. #4
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Cable Routing?

      Quote Originally Posted by rf9rider View Post
      I`ll shortly be changing the faceplate, plus running an extension phone cable up to the bedroom, as the wife wants Sky in the bedroom.
      Question is, will running the extension cable right next to the electric cables cause any problems?
      Just had the house re-wired, so running the extension cable along same route as electric cables will make the job so much easier than finding another route.
      Cheers.
      You do NOT have to run a telephone extension for a sky box if you opt to pay sky a one off 25 fee.

    6. #5
      rf9rider's Avatar
      rf9rider is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wentworth Street
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Cable Routing?

      Quote Originally Posted by joss View Post
      You do NOT have to run a telephone extension for a sky box if you opt to pay sky a one off 25 fee.
      Any more info on this?

      I was only going to run the extension to plug the extra Skybox in.

      Thought it had to be plugged in, according to Multiroom terms/conditions?

      Cheers.

    7. #6
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Cable Routing?

      If you have MultiRoom, then the boxes must be connected to the phone line.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION