Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 23

    Faceplate or get an engineer out ?

    This is a discussion on Faceplate or get an engineer out ? within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I called sky this evening to ask when my DLM period would end as my normal 2.5meg speed had dropped ...

    1. #1
      JamieBee's Avatar
      JamieBee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashford, Kent
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      149
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Faceplate or get an engineer out ?

      I called sky this evening to ask when my DLM period would end as my normal 2.5meg speed had dropped to 1.1meg. The guy I spoke to suggested I swapped the microfilter and hey presto I am back up to 2.5meg again.

      In passing, I happened to ask if there was anything at all I could do to increase my speed as I had recently upgraded to the max 20 meg package (due to downlimit limit dropping on the mid package) and was getting merely 2.5meg. My router is plugged directly into my master socket at present.

      While I was on the line, he suggested I plugged the router directly into the test socket. I did this and hey presto again - I am up to a lofty 4.5meg (the fastest I have had in 5 years I have lived here).

      Apparently, it is best for them to set my speed just below my max so they have set my line speed to 4.1meg.

      As I do not really want the master socket dragging on the floor, my question is this - shall I get someone out from the yellow pages to check out the wiring on the socket or buy a filtered faceplate ?

      Engineer - unsure what cost of this would be ?
      Faceplate - would this keep the speed at 4meg and how easy are they to fit ? They sound quite complicated to do.

      Thanks if anyone can help


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Faceplate or get an engineer out ?

      Do you have any extensions connected to your current master socket faceplate? Remove any wire not connected to connectors 2 and 5 (specifically if 3 is connected).

      If you have extensions then a filtered faceplate such as this ADSL Nation LTD. may improve things but the simple step of removing the ring wire as above would be the easiest solution to start with.

    4. #3
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Faceplate or get an engineer out ?

      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Faceplate or get an engineer out ?

      Buy the faceplate and do it yourself, its simple only takes a minute and costs 10-15.

    6. #5
      JamieBee's Avatar
      JamieBee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashford, Kent
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      149
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Faceplate or get an engineer out ?

      Sorry I seem to have posted duplicate threads - not sure how to delete this one so please ignore. I will skip to the other one.

    7. #6
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Faceplate or get an engineer out ?

      Can a Mod merge the two threads please?

    8. #7
      JamieBee's Avatar
      JamieBee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashford, Kent
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      149
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Faceplate or get an engineer out ?

      Quote Originally Posted by neilmcl View Post
      Do you have any extensions connected to your current master socket faceplate? Remove any wire not connected to connectors 2 and 5 (specifically if 3 is connected).

      If you have extensions then a filtered faceplate such as this ADSL Nation LTD. may improve things but the simple step of removing the ring wire as above would be the easiest solution to start with.
      This was there when I moved in but from the BT faceplate, another cable is running off it up the stairs to another BT socket on the landing that I do not use. Out of the master socket downstairs goes my microfilter - into one side goes my router directly and into the phone side, goes a long extension cable over to other side of the room, then a splitter and then my sky box and telephone.

      Could the fact that I have another socket connected to it be affecting it even though I have nothing connected to it upstairs ?

      I don't understand what you mean by connectors 2, 3 and 5 ?

    9. #8
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Faceplate or get an engineer out ?

      On the removable faceplate there are a number of connectors marked 2, 3, 4 and 5 (See NRs post above). You say your other BT socket is wired of this. Remove the wire connected to number 3 (possibly orange wire). This is the ring wire and is no longer required with modern day telephones, all it does is act as a giant antenna soaking up unwanted radio interference and will effect the quality of your broadband connection.

      I think you'll definitely benefit from getting a filtered faceplate fitted.

    10. #9
      JamieBee's Avatar
      JamieBee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashford, Kent
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      149
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Faceplate or get an engineer out ?

      Quote Originally Posted by neilmcl View Post
      On the removable faceplate there are a number of connectors marked 2, 3, 4 and 5 (See NRs post above). You say your other BT socket is wired of this. Remove the wire connected to number 3 (possibly orange wire). This is the ring wire and is no longer required with modern day telephones, all it does is act as a giant antenna soaking up unwanted radio interference and will effect the quality of your broadband connection.

      I think you'll definitely benefit from getting a filtered faceplate fitted.
      Ok, I have a proper look at the back of the faceplate, I have 1,2,3,5 and 6 wires plugged into the back of it from the cable coming down from upstairs. To remove all interference from the upstairs socket as I am not using it, should I not remove all 5 so that I simply have a plastic faceplate screwed onto the front of the test socket ?

      What is the best way to remove the wires ? Are they just pushed down between the connectors labelled 1 to 6 ?

    11. #10
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,373
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Faceplate or get an engineer out ?

      Quote Originally Posted by JamieBee View Post
      Ok, I have a proper look at the back of the faceplate, I have 1,2,3,5 and 6 wires plugged into the back of it from the cable coming down from upstairs. To remove all interference from the upstairs socket as I am not using it, should I not remove all 5 so that I simply have a plastic faceplate screwed onto the front of the test socket ?

      What is the best way to remove the wires ? Are they just pushed down between the connectors labelled 1 to 6 ?
      Remove all wires apart from wires 2 and 5, that will get rid of the noise problem and the socket will still work.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION