Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Test Socket

    This is a discussion on Test Socket within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hey, I have a test socket because it has the middle line through the middle, but before I open it ...

    1. #1
      kpax88's Avatar
      kpax88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      84
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Test Socket

      Hey,

      I have a test socket because it has the middle line through the middle, but before I open it I just want to check a few things.

      Connection Speed 13053 kbps 766 kbps
      Line Attenuation 35.0 db 17.1 db
      Noise Margin 7.1 db 14.5 db

      Okay so if I plug it into the test socket what sort of stats should be I looking for in my router, will the attenuation maybe lower or what happens.

      Let's see the test socket does it make a difference, what are my options; should I just leave it in that test socket and use my internet as normal with the microfilter or does this affect my telephone as well?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,373
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Test Socket

      Connect to the test socket and post the stats like you have already, you are looking for an increase in speed if the speed does not increase then an increase in the noise margin.

    4. #3
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Test Socket

      First of all do you have any extension sockets, or is this master the only socket you have?.
      Assuming you do have extensions, then with the faceplate removed and the test socket exposed check that you do not have a dial tone at any sockets other than the test socket.
      You can plug a filter in the test socket and use a phone there as well as the router while you check the stats.

    5. #4
      adslnation's Avatar
      adslnation is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Headington, Oxford
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Oxford
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Test Socket

      Quote Originally Posted by kpax88 View Post

      Let's see the test socket does it make a difference, what are my options; should I just leave it in that test socket and use my internet as normal with the microfilter or does this affect my telephone as well?
      If the test socket results in an improvement and you are happy to leave it like that then there is no harm just leaving the filter plugged into the test socket, however if you still wish to use any hardwired extensions you have then it would be better to fit a filtered faceplate.
      adslnation

    6. #5
      kpax88's Avatar
      kpax88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      84
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Test Socket

      I did it and it's very much the same stats... so I guess im getting as good as I can get...

    7. #6
      dsldude's Avatar
      dsldude is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      295
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Test Socket

      For a 35db Attenuation your actually doing above average there so
      its all good.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION