Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 51

    Is my speed correct based on what Sky told me?

    This is a discussion on Is my speed correct based on what Sky told me? within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I recently upgraded to sky mid package, i did a lot of research into weather it was worth upgrading as ...

    1. #1
      ekam's Avatar
      ekam is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: leamore
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Location
      walsall
      Posts
      60
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Is my speed correct based on what Sky told me?

      I recently upgraded to sky mid package, i did a lot of research into weather it was worth upgrading as i was on 1.7 meg on the base package and now on 2.6 meg on the mid package. I am confused as all the tests say i would be able to get 3.5 to 4 meg and sky even told me after doing a line test that i shoud get 4 megabytes. shud i call them and ask? or is there nothing i can do.

      please help meee


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      stu_uk's Avatar
      stu_uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Manchester
      Broadband ISP: plusnet fibre
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      50
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Is my speed correct based on what Sky told me?

      as always post your router stats from the master socket and we can offer advice based on them

    4. #3
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      re: Is my speed correct based on what Sky told me?

      Post the router stats from the current location and also the TEST socket.

      BTW, Sky have not lied, it is an estimate!!! you may want to chenge the thread title.

    5. #4
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Is my speed correct based on what Sky told me?

      Thread title changed to avoid libel as it is clear that there is no evidence to back up the title.

    6. #5
      ekam's Avatar
      ekam is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: leamore
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Location
      walsall
      Posts
      60
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is my speed correct based on what Sky told me?

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3072 kbps 256 kbps
      Line Attenuation 45.0 db 28.5 db
      Noise Margin 20.3 db 13.0 db

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 436096 531091 0 1090 4253 11:10:18
      LAN 10M/100M 508864 417989 0 3724 1205 11:11:18
      WLAN 11M/54M 31877 19240 0 787 82 11:11:10

      my master socket is next to the front door and my bedroom is at the the front of the house so we got BT to make a socket fed straight from the master socket at the front of the house and throught my wall so the wiring is about 1 year old

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Is my speed correct based on what Sky told me?

      Is your DLM training period finished? If so, phone Sky and ask them to reconfigure your connection as DLM has left it crippled. You should get 7-8 Mbs easily.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      ekam's Avatar
      ekam is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: leamore
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Location
      walsall
      Posts
      60
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is my speed correct based on what Sky told me?

      im on the fne to them now, so i just ask them to reconfigure my line?

    9. #8
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,373
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is my speed correct based on what Sky told me?

      Quote Originally Posted by ekam View Post
      im on the fne to them now, so i just ask them to reconfigure my line?
      Just ask then to increase your speed, also don't forget to make sure they increase your upload speed also.

    10. #9
      ekam's Avatar
      ekam is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: leamore
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Location
      walsall
      Posts
      60
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is my speed correct based on what Sky told me?

      WOW im at 4.5meg now but i forgot to ask them to increase my upload speed is that a problem?

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Is my speed correct based on what Sky told me?

      WOW im at 4.5meg now
      Still not good enough! Post the stats you have now.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION