Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Old engineer fitted ADSL socket

    This is a discussion on Old engineer fitted ADSL socket within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Good afternoon all, When ADSL first hit the market a BT engineer would visit and fit an extension plate with ...

    1. #1
      RedEyes's Avatar
      RedEyes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tipton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Old engineer fitted ADSL socket

      Good afternoon all,

      When ADSL first hit the market a BT engineer would visit and fit an extension plate with an ADSL socket and a phone socket... I have one of these.

      It was never fully explained or I was naive in those halcyon days but are filters required on other extension sockets. I do not have filters on any extensions as they were not available at the time.

      Questions:

      Should I start using filters on my phonelines and Sky Box socket.

      If I decide to move my router from the dedicated socket should I either get a new ADSL faceplate for the master or start using filters?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Old engineer fitted ADSL socket

      Ah yes happy days You have a filter faceplate so you do not need any of those nasty "soap on a rope" micro filters. You cannot plug your router in anywhere other than at the router socket on the faceplate, so if you want to move the router, the best way would be to use an extension kit for it. Have a word with Dave at Run-It-Direct.

    4. #3
      RedEyes's Avatar
      RedEyes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tipton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Old engineer fitted ADSL socket

      Thank you for that, my worst fears recognised, Mrs RedEyes aint going to be happy.

    5. #4
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Old engineer fitted ADSL socket

      If it was fitted a while ago i would guess you have the 3 way version, if you want to plug your modem/router in elswhere you would need the 6 way version. Now, depending on how the wiring is currently configured dictates how easy that would be. If all extensions run back to the master then really easy-simply remove the one that is going to be for the modem/router and connect it to the unfiltered connections of the faceplate, at the other end you can use a standard plug in filter OR one of these :-

      BT Socket, Master, ADSL Filtered With RJ45/RJ11

      If the wiring is daisy chained(all sockets linked in a line) so only one cable goes back to the master you will need to run a fresh extension, these are what BT Openreach supply & fit :-

      NTE2000 ADSL Extension Kit, 10M
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    6. #5
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      1,049
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Old engineer fitted ADSL socket

      Buy filters its cheaper and if a faceplate is called for at a later date then change it. All equipment plugged into a phone line with adsl should be filtered.

      This means all phones, expensions and Sky boxes.

      Regards
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


    7. #6
      RedEyes's Avatar
      RedEyes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tipton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Old engineer fitted ADSL socket

      Mrs RedEyes has dictated the wires are unsightly, so as my new skybox came with 3 filters I should get away with it.

      Else I must sweet talk my neighbour who parks his openreach van outside

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION