Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    NTE-2005 or XTE-2005

    This is a discussion on NTE-2005 or XTE-2005 within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I'm undecided as to which one to go for, the Adslnation NTE-2005, which they refer to as a budget filterplate ...

    1. #1
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      NTE-2005 or XTE-2005

      I'm undecided as to which one to go for, the Adslnation NTE-2005, which they refer to as a budget filterplate or the XTE-2005. Is there much of a difference between the two?

      I do prefer the NTE purely for aesthetics but is the XTE techically better?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: NTE-2005 or XTE-2005

      Not really, they all do the same job.

      Have a look at the reviews here, not much between any of them.

    4. #3
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: NTE-2005 or XTE-2005

      The only reason I ask is that according to the NTE-2005 sticky Adslnation states that the XTE-2005 works better with ADSL2/2+ than the NTE, although the reviews seem to suggest that this isn't the case.

    5. #4
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: NTE-2005 or XTE-2005

      If you are in any doubt get the XTE-2005. I agree it is not as nice looking as the NTE and I think the NTE is better made, but there really is nothing in it performance wise.

    6. #5
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: NTE-2005 or XTE-2005

      Quote Originally Posted by neilmcl View Post
      The only reason I ask is that according to the NTE-2005 sticky Adslnation states that the XTE-2005 works better with ADSL2/2+ than the NTE, although the reviews seem to suggest that this isn't the case.
      We found the BEST for ADSL2 is the Austin Taylor one! We don't supply AT faceplates (only junction boxes). Strangely we term the XTE2005 clone a budget filter due to look/feel & price.(currently 7.87 minus Sky user dicount of 10%). For ADSL 2 there is no difference between the XTE2005 clone and the NTE2000/2005, infact again the offerings from Pressac (NTE's) performed slightly better.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    7. #6
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: NTE-2005 or XTE-2005

      I had access to both and your right there doesn't seem to be any difference now that I've got the XTE fitted.

    8. #7
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: NTE-2005 or XTE-2005

      Quote Originally Posted by neilmcl View Post
      I had access to both and your right there doesn't seem to be any difference now that I've got the XTE fitted.
      Would you agree the Pressac one looks slightly nicer?
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    9. #8
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: NTE-2005 or XTE-2005

      Quote Originally Posted by RUNITDIRECT View Post
      Would you agree the Pressac one looks slightly nicer?
      Yes it does, definitely a step up in look and feel. I'd be tempted to put it back on but I don't have much cable left to play with.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION