Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 25

    Need advice on my socket!

    This is a discussion on Need advice on my socket! within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Here is my telephone socket. I was looking to remove the ring wire as it was suggested to me but ...

    1. #1
      danny251's Avatar
      danny251 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Need advice on my socket!



      Here is my telephone socket.
      I was looking to remove the ring wire as it was suggested to me but this isn't like the sockets in the diagrams.
      Also is there a chance of bein shocked haha or is my friend on the wind up?
      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Need advice on my socket!

      That looks like you have removed the test socket completely from the wall and the white wire coming in is the BT dropwire ? If I'm right a picture of the wiring connected to the face plate ( the bit you removed to get at the back plate ) would help as that is where the ring wire, if you have one will be connected to.


    4. #3
      danny251's Avatar
      danny251 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need advice on my socket!



      There is a picture before the first one if that helps?

      I also have a master adsl filter attached to the socket right into what you see above.

    5. #4
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Need advice on my socket!

      If you have managed to remove the lower faceplate altogether, as your picture shows, then you have no extensions wired to it and therefore no ring wire. Do you only have one telephone socket in your home? or do you have extensions pluged into the socket.?

    6. #5
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Need advice on my socket!

      You may not have a ring wire.
      If you do it will be wired into the the faceplate that plugs into the test socket you have shown in the photo above.


    7. #6
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Need advice on my socket!

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      If you have managed to remove the lower faceplate altogether, as your picture shows, then you have no extensions wired to it and therefore no ring wire. Do you only have one telephone socket in your home? or do you have extensions pluged into the socket.?
      Yep Brian that was my first thought also, but it is possible that any extensions have been wired to the lower faceplate and then exit via the recess in the middle of the backplate, rather than buried in the plaster it would be surface mount, and would be visible if we could see the lower faceplate ( I think you will know what I mean )


    8. #7
      danny251's Avatar
      danny251 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need advice on my socket!



      Here is what I got. When I remove the master socket there is no wiring going into it. To the right of the master socket it just clips into the test socket. So does this mean that I definitely don't have a ring wire?

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4095 kbps 480 kbps
      Line Attenuation 60.0 db 39.8 db
      Noise Margin 7.1 db 11.0 db

      There is my stats maybe there is another way to gain better speeds?

    9. #8
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Need advice on my socket!

      Well looking at that, I would say you have probably got 2, maybe 3 extensions wired to the lower faceplate. Take it off an give us a pic of the back of that.

      Looking at your stats you are doing extremely well to be getting the speeds you are, tho your upload sync should be a lot better if you are on max / unlimited.


    10. #9
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Need advice on my socket!

      As you are using a filter faceplate, you have no ring wire problems at all, and your stats are fine. as you are on max, you will gain a little upstream when DLM is applied to the line. The download looks fine.

    11. #10
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Need advice on my socket!

      Mmmm, maybe its getting late and I should shutup, but what do you make of the 2/3 wires that seem to go into the back of thie setup ?


     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION