Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Terrible speeds from all but master socket

    This is a discussion on Terrible speeds from all but master socket within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Out of nowhere, my broadband speeds have gone downhill, my noise margin has fallen off a cliff (from a typical ...

    1. #1
      SimpleRules's Avatar
      SimpleRules is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      176
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Terrible speeds from all but master socket

      Out of nowhere, my broadband speeds have gone downhill, my noise margin has fallen off a cliff (from a typical 13db to 6 or 7) and my connection is understandably dropping often. The thing is, I've not changed anything. It's come out of the blue.

      The only way I can get a decent connecting is to remove the master plate and plug the router directly into the master socket. I don't know why though, every extension typically has a filter on it & right now they all have nothing plugged into them. Yet, as soon as I plug the master plate on (now matter which extension I use), it's a terrible connection.

      I read the article on removing the ring wire, but I've got two orange/white cables. I wouldn't know which to remove. I'm not sure what's causing this, but it's driving me crazy.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Terrible speeds from all but master socket

      The ring wire is the one that goes into terminal 3 on the faceplate, it doesn't matter what colour it is, if it's in terminal 3 that's the one to remove.

      It would be worth investing in a filtered faceplate also, this would remove the internal wiring problem once and for all.

    4. #3
      SimpleRules's Avatar
      SimpleRules is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      176
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Terrible speeds from all but master socket

      Thank you, Smithy99. I have removed the ring cable, and the connection is now seeming better.

      I'll have a look around for a fitted faceplate.

    5. #4
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,373
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Terrible speeds from all but master socket

      Quote Originally Posted by SimpleRules View Post
      Thank you, Smithy99. I have removed the ring cable, and the connection is now seeming better.

      I'll have a look around for a fitted faceplate.
      This is a filtered faceplate that I can recommend, I use one myself.

      ADSL Nation LTD.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Terrible speeds from all but master socket

      my noise margin has fallen off a cliff (from a typical 13db to 6 or 7)
      Just a point, if your noise margin was normally 13 dbs, you must have been capped. This means there have been noise problems with your line, which if you are now dropping to 6dbs, must have got worse or your line has been put on DLM training. Check on your MySky page, Broadband Details, see if it reports your line training.

      If you have extensions the best thing you can do is fit a filtered faceplate.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      GSMGuy's Avatar
      GSMGuy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: HD+ Multiroom
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      526
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Terrible speeds from all but master socket

      Quote Originally Posted by Andy17 View Post
      This is a filtered faceplate that I can recommend, I use one myself.

      ADSL Nation LTD.

      Nah... Get one of these instead - Actual Pressac, as supplied to BT - Cheaper too!! ADSL Nation LTD.


      Mike

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION