Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    ADSL cable length from master to router ?

    This is a discussion on ADSL cable length from master to router ? within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Does a long ADSL cable from the master socket filtered placeplate to the router make that much difference?. I shouldn't ...

    1. #1
      BLOODUK's Avatar
      BLOODUK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Herne Bay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Everything
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Kent
      Posts
      271
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      ADSL cable length from master to router ?

      Does a long ADSL cable from the master socket filtered placeplate to the router make that much difference?.

      I shouldn't think so , but it's nice to get other viewpoints on this

      I'm currently using a 10M shielded adsl cable
      Ultra High Speed ADSL Cables > Maplin


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: ADSL cable length from master to router ?

      The ideal set-up is the router close to the master, with as short a cable as possible to the filter faceplate, and then cable from the router to the computer. But your set up is fine, I did notice the heavy cable in your photos before.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: ADSL cable length from master to router ?

      It can, the one you are using is very good (I know I have one) Some are just flat twin telephone cable which can pick up a lot of noise, just like an untwisted telephone extension would and should be avoided.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      BLOODUK's Avatar
      BLOODUK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Herne Bay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Everything
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Kent
      Posts
      271
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: ADSL cable length from master to router ?

      Cheers Both of you

    6. #5
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: ADSL cable length from master to router ?

      What are you going to do tonight Blood, leave the speedtouch on and hope there is no internet in the morning, or plug in the sagem and hope it is connected when you look, or unplug everything and then plug in the sagem in the morning.

    7. #6
      BLOODUK's Avatar
      BLOODUK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Herne Bay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Everything
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Kent
      Posts
      271
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: ADSL cable length from master to router ?

      Considering i go to bed at 1am , i'll probably leave the router in and wait and see when i wake up. If the internet is offline i'll plug the sagem in and pray lol

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION