Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 27

    Help WIth Cabling/Speeds/Noise

    This is a discussion on Help WIth Cabling/Speeds/Noise within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi All, I've been a Sky Max customer form nearly a month now and am very pleased with my connection ...

    1. #1
      Donaldson2121's Avatar
      Donaldson2121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMNEW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Newcastle-Under-Lyme
      Posts
      245
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Help WIth Cabling/Speeds/Noise

      Hi All,
      I've been a Sky Max customer form nearly a month now and am very pleased with my connection so far.
      However with the news of upgrades to line speeds over the next few months i'd like to sort out my cabling to hopefully improve my connection.

      My current setup is:
      - Phone line in to NTE5 - Nothing connected to Master socket
      - Extension from internal connectors pins 2 and 5 using 6 core twisted cable to another room (around 15m cable used)
      - Filtered box with 2 connectors (screw in for cables from pins 2&5) with ADSL socket and telephone socket.
      - Sky modem connected to ADSL socket
      - Splitter fitted to telephone socket with Phone and Sky box connected.

      Hopefully all the above makes sense

      My current stats are:
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 15377 kbps 765 kbps
      Line Attenuation 20.5 db 9.2 db
      Noise Margin 6.8 db 12.0 db

      What i have noticed is that when i compare the stats from the router when connected to master socket and my extension there is quite a big difference in noise margin.

      In the master socket my download noise margin is around 12.5 -13
      from my extension its reduced down to aroudn 6.8

      The upload also increases when in the master.

      Is the drop in noise margin from this length of cable normal? or have a made an error in my wiring/choice of filtered extension socket?

      I understand i could potentially have my router connected to the master socket but i have an xbox i'd like connected to it wired. (i may look at homeplug/powerline if i need to)

      Any ideas on if its fixable and what kind of speed i may get if my line gets put throug DLM again with download Line Attenuation 20.5 db and Noise Margin 12.5??

      The BeUnlimited checker says "We've estimated that your maximum download speed is 19 meg" will this be close to what i can get with sky?



      Thanks for all your help so far


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Help WIth Cabling/Speeds/Noise

      Your best bet would be a filtered plate on the NTE5 and homeplugs to connect your Xbox. There is a considerable difference between 6.8 an 12.5. With the first you are getting as much as your line can handle. With the second you have the potential for considerably more speed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Help WIth Cabling/Speeds/Noise

      How far from the NTE5 would the X Box be? Ideally you want your router plugged into the master socket, you could then run an Ethernet cable from here to the X Box??
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    5. #4
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help WIth Cabling/Speeds/Noise

      Just to confirm, are you saying you've got a small RF filterbox next to your extension socket? If it's an RF2 type then this could explain the drop in the noise margin.

    6. #5
      BLOODUK's Avatar
      BLOODUK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Herne Bay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Everything
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Kent
      Posts
      271
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Help WIth Cabling/Speeds/Noise

      Edit : Ignore what i just said , i thought it was my thread... LOL

    7. #6
      Donaldson2121's Avatar
      Donaldson2121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMNEW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Newcastle-Under-Lyme
      Posts
      245
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help WIth Cabling/Speeds/Noise

      Quote Originally Posted by RUNITDIRECT View Post
      How far from the NTE5 would the X Box be? Ideally you want your router plugged into the master socket, you could then run an Ethernet cable from here to the X Box??
      Its the same length as the extension as i have it running to behind my TV for connection to sky box and wirless phones + router for xbox.

      I could run a CAT5 to the same place but means another cable running along the wall and door frames and would look a bit messy i think.

      I may look into homeplugs for the xbox and hope it doesnt give me any gaming lag or reduction in download/upload speed for xbox live.

      Anyone got any recommendations for homeplugs/powerline??

    8. #7
      Donaldson2121's Avatar
      Donaldson2121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMNEW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Newcastle-Under-Lyme
      Posts
      245
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help WIth Cabling/Speeds/Noise

      Quote Originally Posted by neilmcl View Post
      Just to confirm, are you saying you've got a small RF filterbox next to your extension socket? If it's an RF2 type then this could explain the drop in the noise margin.
      Sorry no i might not have explained very well,

      I ran the cable from the master and connected it to a filtered box/faceplate i got from homebase (it has an adsl port and a phone port on the front). The cables matching pins 2 & 5 just screwed into some connectors inside it.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Help WIth Cabling/Speeds/Noise

      Edit : Ignore what i just said , i thought it was my thread... LOL
      The exciting prospect of joining this exclusive band is getting to you.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Help WIth Cabling/Speeds/Noise

      Quote Originally Posted by Donaldson2121 View Post
      Its the same length as the extension as i have it running to behind my TV for connection to sky box and wirless phones + router for xbox.

      I could run a CAT5 to the same place but means another cable running along the wall and door frames and would look a bit messy i think.

      I may look into homeplugs for the xbox and hope it doesnt give me any gaming lag or reduction in download/upload speed for xbox live.

      Anyone got any recommendations for homeplugs/powerline??
      Would a run on the outside of the house be viable??
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    11. #10
      Donaldson2121's Avatar
      Donaldson2121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMNEW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Newcastle-Under-Lyme
      Posts
      245
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help WIth Cabling/Speeds/Noise

      no unfortunately not as the line comes in the front of the house and where i need it is at the back (its a terrace). Also its a rented house i dont really want to do any drilling etc.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION