Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 27

    Help WIth Cabling/Speeds/Noise

    This is a discussion on Help WIth Cabling/Speeds/Noise within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Did a check again and stats are below, looks like it would definately benefit me having it connected to the ...

    1. #11
      Donaldson2121's Avatar
      Donaldson2121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMNEW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Newcastle-Under-Lyme
      Posts
      245
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help WIth Cabling/Speeds/Noise

      Did a check again and stats are below, looks like it would definately benefit me having it connected to the master.

      Can anyone tell me if i'm likely to get anywhere close to the 1.3Mb upload when its rolled out?

      Extension Socket
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 15377 kbps 765 kbps
      Line Attenuation 20.5 db 9.2 db
      Noise Margin 6.8 db 12.0 db


      Master Socket
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 16383 kbps 765 kbps
      Line Attenuation 18.0 db 8.1 db
      Noise Margin 11.8 db 13 db

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Help WIth Cabling/Speeds/Noise

      Do you mean master or the test socket?

      If it is from the master socket, try the test socket beneath, this should improve things even further. Also when you remove the faceplate remove any wires in terminal 3 on the back of it, you don't need it and it causes interference.

      As for the upload, you still have some margin there so you should see an improvement

    4. #13
      Donaldson2121's Avatar
      Donaldson2121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMNEW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Newcastle-Under-Lyme
      Posts
      245
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help WIth Cabling/Speeds/Noise

      what i'm calling "master" is the socket on the outside of the box where the connection enters my house. I did try the test socket but the difference between the two was small in terms on noise margins and attenuation. I have a Tamar ADSL Faceplate Filter arriving today/tomorrow so will see if that levels out the difference between test socket and master.

      once fitted if i was to tell sky i have improved my cabling and ask them if they could re-run DLM would i see the new speeds?

      I looked at the "My Sky" page which tells me:
      Download Speed

      Your connection has been set to a download speed of up to
      11.0Mb (11264Kb)
      Upload Speed

      Your connection has been set to an upload speed of up to
      1.3Mb (1312Kb)

      But that doesnt seem to be what my router is syncd at? Where does that page get its info from?

    5. #14
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Help WIth Cabling/Speeds/Noise

      Can you post some pics of the sockets?

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Help WIth Cabling/Speeds/Noise

      Can anyone tell me if i'm likely to get anywhere close to the 1.3Mb upload when its rolled out?
      You should get the 1.3Mb plus 18-19 Mb on your download. It does not look as if DLM has run on your line, or if it has, your speed has been subsequently manually configured. I would not take too much notice of what it says on your webpage, that will go by the board when the lines are opened up to the higher speed. Just fit your filtered faceplate and sit tight. Until the Support agents get instructed to configure lines to 20Mb, you are getting as much as they can give you.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help WIth Cabling/Speeds/Noise

      Quote Originally Posted by Donaldson2121 View Post
      Anyone got any recommendations for homeplugs/powerline??
      I got a pair of Comtrend 200Mbps from ebay, you can usually pick them for around 40. BT give them away free to their BT Vision customers, hence why most of them end up on that particular auction site.

      Make sure you go for the 902 versions with the passthrough socket on the bottom half of the unit.

    8. #17
      Donaldson2121's Avatar
      Donaldson2121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMNEW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Newcastle-Under-Lyme
      Posts
      245
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help WIth Cabling/Speeds/Noise

      Thanks for that neilmcl, do you get a decent connection speed from them? what kind of transfer speeds to you get when moving larges files over the connection?
      I'd be using mine to stream video files etc to media centre on the xbox so need a good constant throughput.

    9. #18
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help WIth Cabling/Speeds/Noise

      They don't have any effect on the connection speed of the router. I've not tested them for throughput I'm afraid, if you give me an idea of the best way to do this on an XP machine I'll give it a go.

    10. #19
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Help WIth Cabling/Speeds/Noise

      They will give as good as an ethernet cable. I use 85mb Solwise ones and can easily stread HD to my xbox so these 200mb ones should be better again.

    11. #20
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Help WIth Cabling/Speeds/Noise

      if you give me an idea of the best way to do this on an XP machine I'll give it a go.
      Transferring a large file 500Mbs or so from your machine to another, using the plugs would give you an idea.

      I am not sure if they will actually run at 200mb/s, unless it was a direct connection between PCs, (with gigabit cards), bypassing the router. The router at 100mb/s is the limiting factor.

      I am pretty sure 85mb/s is more than enough to stream HD video.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION