Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 20

    Quick Question: Any tricks to get BT to fit a new master socket for free?

    This is a discussion on Quick Question: Any tricks to get BT to fit a new master socket for free? within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Exactly what it says on the tin really. I have an old non-NET5 master socket, and I wondered if anyone ...

    1. #1
      tombowler's Avatar
      tombowler is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quick Question: Any tricks to get BT to fit a new master socket for free?

      Exactly what it says on the tin really.
      I have an old non-NET5 master socket, and I wondered if anyone knew a way of conning BT into replacing it for a new socket for free?

      Funily enough I did report a line fault to Sky just yesterday and Sky agreed there was a problem on my line somewhere.

      Could the lack of a NET5 be the problem?
      Even if its not the problem, do you think I could get BT to replace it ''just in case'' so to speak?


      Thanks for any suggestions


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Quick Question: Any tricks to get BT to fit a new master socket for free?

      did you call SkyTalk or Sky BB?

      if Sky have found a problem that will need an engineer they'll instruct them to fint an NTE5...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      tombowler's Avatar
      tombowler is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Quick Question: Any tricks to get BT to fit a new master socket for free?

      It was a Sky BB tech support bloke.
      If they look for one they aint going to find one :P

      Then what will happen?

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Quick Question: Any tricks to get BT to fit a new master socket for free?

      nothing, Sky pay the charge not you as they sent the engineer...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      tombowler's Avatar
      tombowler is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Quick Question: Any tricks to get BT to fit a new master socket for free?

      Right-o thanks for the advice

    7. #6
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Quick Question: Any tricks to get BT to fit a new master socket for free?

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      nothing, Sky pay the charge not you as they sent the engineer...
      Not strictly true. If the BT Openreach engineer doesn't find a fault then the OP may be liable to a call out charge of around 99 plus a charge for every hour the engineer is at the premises.

    8. #7
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Quick Question: Any tricks to get BT to fit a new master socket for free?

      ^^^Mmmm, not so sure about that. Sky have identified a fault and requested BT to attend. If BT dont find a fault then the bill will go to Sky,as the client who requested the works, not the OP.


    9. #8
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Quick Question: Any tricks to get BT to fit a new master socket for free?

      The OP hasn't made it clear but what usually happens, dependant on the fault, is that the customer has to agree to an engineer being sent out along with agreeing with the terms and conditions that he may be liable for a charge if no fault is found or the fault is part of the customer's own set up or equipment.

    10. #9
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Quick Question: Any tricks to get BT to fit a new master socket for free?

      99? Last I saw openreach engineers were now costing 3 figures.

    11. #10
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Quick Question: Any tricks to get BT to fit a new master socket for free?

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      99? Last I saw openreach engineers were now costing 3 figures.
      They certainly were! I haven't heard this has changed??
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION