Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Replacing faceplate on BT master socket

    This is a discussion on Replacing faceplate on BT master socket within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; So phone line installed by openWorld today. Have a Tamar faceplate replacement. Wires aren't where I thought they would be ...

    1. #1
      jmauk's Avatar
      jmauk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Canonbury
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Replacing faceplate on BT master socket

      So phone line installed by openWorld today. Have a Tamar faceplate replacement. Wires aren't where I thought they would be on the BT faceplate though. 2 pix attached showing that the BT faceplate has no wires go to it (just plugs in) and that the incoming phone wires are connected to the non-faceplate. What goes where?
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Replacing faceplate on BT master socket-img_0078.jpg   Replacing faceplate on BT master socket-img_0079.jpg  


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Replacing faceplate on BT master socket

      Not sure I understand your problem.
      I assume the phone works.
      The faceplate plugs into the base and your phone plugs into the faceplate's socket.
      If you want to wire additional extensions these are attached to the krone strip on the back of the faceplate.

      http://www.dslzoneuk.net/socket.php


    4. #3
      jmauk's Avatar
      jmauk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Canonbury
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Replacing faceplate on BT master socket

      No extensions, no. Just wanted the new faceplate to strip away noise etc. But what goes where? Which wires get attached to the new faceplate?

      As I don't want any extensions at all (the router and the phone will be plugged into this new faceplate) do just plug the new faceplate into the master socket - no wire changes required?

    5. #4
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Replacing faceplate on BT master socket

      No wires, the new faceplate, I assume you mean an ADSL Nation one, just plugs in to the socket on the base.

      http://www.adslnation.com/products/xte2005.php


    6. #5
      jmauk's Avatar
      jmauk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Canonbury
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Replacing faceplate on BT master socket

      Doh!!!! I was clearly getting confused by the descriptions of people needing the new faceplate PLUS extensions, then.

    7. #6
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Replacing faceplate on BT master socket

      Quote Originally Posted by jmauk View Post
      So phone line installed by openWorld today. Have a Tamar faceplate replacement. Wires aren't where I thought they would be on the BT faceplate though. 2 pix attached showing that the BT faceplate has no wires go to it (just plugs in) and that the incoming phone wires are connected to the non-faceplate. What goes where?
      Ok Picture 2 shows the BT side back plate with the blue and white wire connected to A and B. Forget that for now.
      Picture 1 shows the front plate, This is where you would "hardwire" any extensions in to 2 and 5 slots. Note on Picture 2 that there is no Orange ring wire attached, which is good.
      So as it is at the moment when closed up you have normal phone access. Taking off the bottom face plate gives you direct access to the test socket.
      The Tamar faceplate should just replace the bottom half of the face plate, which means it is then connect into test socket where it takes its connection from.
      Dont think you actually need to touch wires. (unless your using it as an extension socket)
      But then I have not seen a tamar face plate.

      Forgot i make the assumption that its a tamar filted face plate? This will then split your ADSL signal from your voice signal. much better result.

      Hope this helps
      Last edited by joss; 09-06-09 at 07:14 PM. Reason: missed bits out again

    8. #7
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Replacing faceplate on BT master socket

      Quote Originally Posted by joss View Post
      Ok Picture 2 shows the BT side back plate with the blue and white wire connected to A and B. Forget that for now.
      Picture 1 shows the front plate, This is where you would "hardwire" any extensions in to 2 and 5 slots. Note on Picture 2 that there is no Orange ring wire attached, which is good.


      Hope this helps
      There will ever be 2 wires connected to the REAR faceplate. When installing ANY faceplate designed for the NTE5 you do not need to do ANY wiring IF you have NO extensions. It's just a matter of undoing the 2 screws for the FRONT LOWER faceplate and swapping this for the ADSL filtered version.

      As for the ring wire,if this is connected it will make ZERO difference, the ADSL signal has already been seperated from the extension wiring.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Replacing faceplate on BT master socket

      Apart from improving the appearance you have wasted your money buying a faceplate. It will make no difference if you don't have extensions.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Replacing faceplate on BT master socket

      Quote Originally Posted by RUNITDIRECT View Post
      There will ever be 2 wires connected to the REAR faceplate. When installing ANY faceplate designed for the NTE5 you do not need to do ANY wiring IF you have NO extensions. It's just a matter of undoing the 2 screws for the FRONT LOWER faceplate and swapping this for the ADSL filtered version.

      As for the ring wire,if this is connected it will make ZERO difference, the ADSL signal has already been seperated from the extension wiring.
      Runit you have quoted me then just repeated what I said, your point is?

    11. #10
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Replacing faceplate on BT master socket

      Quote Originally Posted by joss View Post
      Note on Picture 2 that there is no Orange ring wire attached, which is good.
      Picture 2 shows the rear of the NTE5-there will only ever be 2 wires connected here. You also mentioned the ring wire-the ring wire will have no effect if a faceplate is fitted.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION