Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    Help in resolving noisy line for good

    This is a discussion on Help in resolving noisy line for good within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Have had huge issues with noise on the line causing resyncs. Been backwards and fowards with my ISP trying to ...

    1. #1
      Lemmy's Avatar
      Lemmy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Entanet via Adsl24
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Help in resolving noisy line for good

      Have had huge issues with noise on the line causing resyncs.

      Been backwards and fowards with my ISP trying to get the problem solved. BT were sent out and fiited an NTE5 socket (with the ring wire attached on the back of the faceplate for extension). Although I havent checked yet the ring wire is also prolly attached on the wire to the master itself because that's what they do!

      The problem still occurs. The noise is only on the line when the router is active.

      Changed router and filters still no joy.

      So now I have the router and phone plugged into the test socket via and XFE-1microfilter and the noise is gone. No resyncs and no errors shown in Routerstats.

      Would I then benefit from fitting a filtered faceplate would this produce the same fix as me plugging into the test socket and should I remove both ring wires?

      I thought there was no need to remove the ring wire from the actual master socket wiring as the is a choke filter on the new Openreach style NTE-5.

      Please help me resove this issue once and for all

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      psu300's Avatar
      psu300 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ealow
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Suffolk
      Posts
      749
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Help in resolving noisy line for good

      Have a look on Here.

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/cabli...faceplate.html

      Hope it Helps.

    4. #3
      Lemmy's Avatar
      Lemmy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Entanet via Adsl24
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help in resolving noisy line for good

      The socket is a newly installed BT Openreach socket (with BT Openreach Logo) So I believe I will not benefit from an I-PLATE.

    5. #4
      adslnation's Avatar
      adslnation is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Headington, Oxford
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Oxford
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help in resolving noisy line for good

      Correct the ring wire filter that is in the iPlate is already in your Openreach branded NTE-5 so you will not benefit from an iPlate. I would guess that you probably have extensions that are not twisted pair and that is what is causing your trouble.

      If you are able to leave the modem connected at the master socket then yes fitting a faceplate will achieve the same result as you have now by plugging your XF-1e into the test socket. Fitting a faceplate would mean that the ADSL signal does not need to travel down your extension wires so that eliminates them as a potential source of interference.
      adslnation

    6. #5
      Lemmy's Avatar
      Lemmy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Entanet via Adsl24
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help in resolving noisy line for good

      Have ordered an adslnation faceplate so I will install that and see how it goes.

    7. #6
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Help in resolving noisy line for good

      Sadly, I don't think you'll notice any difference, because the ADSL Nation faceplate contains exactly the same components as the XF-1E filter. If you can hear noise on the line when the ADSL router is connected, you could have a high-resistance joint somewhere in your line, which only BT can fix. When the ADSL is not on, do you hear any crackling on the line ? If you have a high-resistance fault, then it will slowly get worse, and eventually the voice side will stop completely.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Help in resolving noisy line for good

      Sadly, I don't think you'll notice any difference,
      Sadly, I don't think you know what you are taking about.
      So now I have the router and phone plugged into the test socket via and XFE-1microfilter and the noise is gone.
      The noise problems are being caused by the extension wiring, fitting a filtered faceplate isolates this and gives virtually the same results as when plugged into the Test socket.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Help in resolving noisy line for good

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Sadly, I don't think you know what you are taking about.
      No, I just didn't read the "So now I have the router and phone plugged into the test socket via and XFE-1microfilter and the noise is gone." bit.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Help in resolving noisy line for good

      No, I just didn't read the "So now I have the router and phone plugged into the test socket via and XFE-1microfilter and the noise is gone." bit
      Maybe you should not have commented without reading the post properly

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Help in resolving noisy line for good

      Well, we can't all be perfect, can we ?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION