Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 46

    have been sent a Sky electricity monitor...???

    This is a discussion on have been sent a Sky electricity monitor...??? within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; ..anyone else? I have not asked for one nor have I purchased one but I have been sent one, I ...

    1. #1
      strumstrum's Avatar
      strumstrum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      have been sent a Sky electricity monitor...???

      ..anyone else? I have not asked for one nor have I purchased one but I have been sent one, I cannot find any info whatsoever about them and I havent set it up, but I have looked at it and it looks like it should cost money...

      and sorry if this is in the wrong place, couldnt find where to post it...


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      re: have been sent a Sky electricity monitor...???

      Weird, this isn't one of the new smart meters that were announced on the BBC recently is it? Are you sure it's from Sky?

    4. #3
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      re: have been sent a Sky electricity monitor...???

      You got any pics of it ? If it is an electric meter / monitor, then you certainly shouldnt be attemting to fit it yourself.


    5. #4
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      re: have been sent a Sky electricity monitor...???

      There is some confusion over "smart meters". A smart meter must be fitted by the energy supplier(as it monitors both electric AND gas) they are also only in trial at the moment AFAIK, however you can get simple meters to guage consumption, these are sometimes revered to as "smart meters".

      About Smart Meters

      Efergy Smart Meter - Clearance Sale at The Green Store, Eco Gifts, Green Gifts, environmentally friendly gifts, Recycled Gifts - Over 20, Energy Monitor, Energy Saving, Electricity Smart Meter, shower timers - Power Savers

      They only work on electric for obvious reasons.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    6. #5
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      re: have been sent a Sky electricity monitor...???

      Hang on this isn't one of those devices you plug into the socket and then you plug your equipment into is it? The things that just tell you how much power you are consuming at the moment?

    7. #6
      strumstrum's Avatar
      strumstrum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: have been sent a Sky electricity monitor...???

      just reading the destructions now...here is a pic



      yes I meant monitor, I did try to change the thread title but it wouldnt let me..
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 21-05-09 at 10:20 PM. Reason: added new image

    8. #7
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      re: have been sent a Sky electricity monitor...???

      It's one that clips over the main power feed to monitor energy(electricty) use. Similar to clamp multimeter i guess.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    9. #8
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: have been sent a Sky electricity monitor...???

      Quote Originally Posted by strumstrum View Post
      yes I meant monitor, I did try to change the thread title but it wouldnt let me..
      Changed title for you.

      Wonder if all Sky customers will be getting one.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    10. #9
      strumstrum's Avatar
      strumstrum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: have been sent a Sky electricity monitor...???

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Changed title for you.

      Wonder if all Sky customers will be getting one.
      cheers...

      I just cannot find anything online about them, and there is nothing showing in my account, I was looking through Sky Active a few weeks back so I will have a look if there is anything on that about them but apart from that I dont know...

      we only came to Sky a couple of months back and we had the whole sheebang, SkyHD, BBand & Talk so dont know if that has anything to do with it... oh and we also let a Sky person come and check the install of HD and check we was happy with the installer and that he cleaned up after him etc.. so dont know if that has anything to do with it...????

    11. #10
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: have been sent a Sky electricity monitor...???

      I have emailed Sky to see if I can get the forum any information.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

     

     
    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION