Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 19 of 19

    Best way to wire master socket to Netgear router

    This is a discussion on Best way to wire master socket to Netgear router within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by windsor-tg Thanks for all the great replies. I still have not got round to connecting my router ...

    1. #11
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Best way to wire master socket to Netgear router

      Quote Originally Posted by windsor-tg View Post
      Thanks for all the great replies. I still have not got round to connecting my router correctly as I am in the middle of decorating!

      I have read various posts about which is the best ADSL faceplate filter to have. Can someone please advise which is the best one I should go for?

      The ones I have heard about are the XTE-2005 master faceplate (from ADSL Nation), the NTE2005 linebox 6-way version (from run-it-direct) and the Faceplate filter (from Tamar). Is there any difference between an XTE-2005 and an NTE2005?

      Yes, the XTE-2005 is what we term a generic filter, it can be branded as anything, see here(currently on special offer @ 7.87, not in conjunction with any other offer). :- NTE5 ADSL Faceplate (XTE-2005 Clone) The NTE2000/2005 is made by Pressac who supply BT/Openreach. They all do the same job.
      Just to recap, my router is in my study. It is not possible to place the router near the NTE5 master socket in the hall as there is no convenient power socket there. I have extension wires that are all combined in the back of the master socket (done by a BT engineer) and then there are 2 wires (sold blue and solid orange) that come from all of these combined wires and are connected in slots 2 and 5 on the back of the existing NTE5 faceplate. I therefore want to run a 15m cable from the A-B connection on the back of the new faceplate filter to a new socket in the study.

      Am I best to use a cat5 cable for this or a CW1308 cable? What type of socket do I need to use in the study? I want to connect my fax machine to this new socket in the study. Do I need to connect any more wires on the back of the new faceplate filter as well as the new socket study? Either cable will be fine, as you want a fax machine in there too you will need one of these sockets :-BT Socket, Master, ADSL Filtered With RJ45/RJ11 You will need to connect this new extension to A & B on the faceplate.I assume I need to disconnect the 2 wires going into the back of the existing faceplate and connect these to slots 2 and 5 on the back of the new faceplate filter? Correct.
      Finally, should I replace the standard RJ11 cable that came with my Netgear router with a better one? Will make probably zero difference.
      Sorry for the 101 questions but I just want to get it right!
      Answers above.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      windsor-tg's Avatar
      windsor-tg is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Windsor
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Best way to wire master socket to Netgear router

      Thanks for the prompt reply.

      So there is no difference in quality and performance between the XTE-2005 Clone and the NTE2005 filter made by Pressac?

      Is there any reason why the the NTE2005 filter (15.26) is twice as expensive as the XTE-2005 Clone (7.87) ?

      Do only two wires need to be connected between the ADSL faceplate filter (A-B) and the ADSL Filtered with RJ45/RJ11 socket for the router and fax machine to work happily?

      Will the fact that a fax machine is connected cause any slowness to the broadband speed?

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Best way to wire master socket to Netgear router

      Is there any reason why the the NTE2005 filter (15.26) is twice as expensive as the XTE-2005 Clone (7.87) ?
      The former is Made in UK, the latter in the Far East.

      Do only two wires need to be connected between the ADSL faceplate filter (A-B) and the ADSL Filtered with RJ45/RJ11 socket for the router and fax machine to work happily?
      Yes, the ring wire is not required.
      Will the fact that a fax machine is connected cause any slowness to the broadband speed?
      Not if it is properly connected through a filter.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      windsor-tg's Avatar
      windsor-tg is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Windsor
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Best way to wire master socket to Netgear router

      Thanks Isitme.

      Is there any performance or quality difference between the two if they are made in different countries?

    6. #15
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Best way to wire master socket to Netgear router

      Thanks isitme! The clone filter is also on offer at present(it's a new product), usuall price will be nearer 9.99. Chinese imports are much cheaper than UK made products(sadly), we have found the quality to be fine but will continue to sell & stock the Pressac made faceplates.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    7. #16
      windsor-tg's Avatar
      windsor-tg is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Windsor
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Best way to wire master socket to Netgear router

      Using cat5 cable between the filter faceplate and the ADSL filtered RJ45/RJ11 socket, does this cable need to be shielded or unshielded, and does it need to be straight or cross-over?

    8. #17
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Best way to wire master socket to Netgear router

      Unshielded will be fine(no point in shielded as the faceplates/sockets are not designed for this). Wiring is A & B from faceplate to 2 & 5 on the BT/ADSL socket.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    9. #18
      windsor-tg's Avatar
      windsor-tg is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Windsor
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Best way to wire master socket to Netgear router

      do the wires need to match between the faceplate filter and the BT/ADSL socket, i.e. blue/white connected to A (faceplate) and 2 (ADSL socket), and white/blue to B and 5?

    10. #19
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Best way to wire master socket to Netgear router

      Polarity doesn't matter but the info is on our website for each particular scenario.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION