Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
    Results 31 to 37 of 37

    Extension for broadband only

    This is a discussion on Extension for broadband only within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Connecting the router to the master socket is the best soloution. The problem is then getting the ethernet to the ...

    1. #31
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Extension for broadband only

      Connecting the router to the master socket is the best soloution. The problem is then getting the ethernet to the PC, if you can run a cable then this is the best and cheapest way as you can buy these in various lengths for a few 's or make your own.

      The will work without problems well over 100m so distance won't be a problem.

      If you cannot run a cable then you could invest in Homeplugs, these basically plug in to a mains socket and send the data via the house wiring, great if you cannot or don't want cables ran around but will cost 45 for a pair (one at the router end and one for the PC).

      The other option is to run a Phone point to near the PC and only use it for ADSL but this requires some bits a filtered faceplate and also running a cable so you may as well run the ethernet one.

      Wireless - this should work but if you game or want consistant speeds you may have some problems especially gaming due to the lag it causes.

      Finally, ensure that you have an ADSL filter pluggged into the master socket, the Sky splitter is not one of these but can be easily confuesd for one.

      The order is, Phone socket to adsl filter. Phone side to twin splitter and then on to phone and Sky box, router side to router. Without the filter your speeds will suffer.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      dubbsy's Avatar
      dubbsy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01582
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Extension for broadband only

      Thanks,
      Once BT have installed my new master socket, my intention was to fit an XTE 2005 master plate over it which is on its way from ADSL nation, this should sort the filtering bit out as I see it has internal filtering - correct ?
      The XTE 2005 has two outlets sockets, do I connect the router grey cable and Sky HD box into the phone socket one with a plain unfiltered splitter, then run the ethernet cable from router to the PC ?

      Do I use the ASDL socket on the face plate for any thing

      Thanks for all your help so far

    4. #33
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Extension for broadband only

      No, router ADSL cable goes into the ADSL port, telephones etc go into the BT port (via your Sky supplied splitter). You then run an ethernet cable from the routers ethernet port to your PC(CAT5e cable).
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    5. #34
      dubbsy's Avatar
      dubbsy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01582
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Extension for broadband only

      Ta, Presume I still have to connect the grey phone cable from the router into the phone socket on the master plate,
      Is their a specific order on the back of the router as to which ADSL port I connect to the ADSL port on the XTE socket

    6. #35
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Extension for broadband only

      The router will only have one ADSL port? I think you are getting confused with the ethernet ports-these are the ones you connect PC's etc to.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    7. #36
      dubbsy's Avatar
      dubbsy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01582
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Extension for broadband only

      Yep , sorry.
      On the XTE 2005 BT port it looks like I will have to connect the grey router cable , the Sky HD cable and my phone, is there a best practice order these should be connected

      The grey router cable is a much smaller connector that the Phone and Sky box, . I see the Sky box connector has a moulded spliter on it.

    8. #37
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Extension for broadband only

      The grey(assuming it is ADSL?) cable goes into the ADSL port on the faceplate :-



      All other devices go into the phone socket, it makes no difference what order these are plugged into the phone socket as this socket is filtered.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

     

     
    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION