Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 37

    Extension for broadband only

    This is a discussion on Extension for broadband only within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Sorry if this has already been ruled out but you would be better putting the router nearer the master socket ...

    1. #11
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Extension for broadband only

      Sorry if this has already been ruled out but you would be better putting the router nearer the master socket and then run the ethernet from the router to the PC.

      The closer the router is to the main BT line the less it will affet the speed.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Extension for broadband only

      it uses a small grey cable that goes into an adaptor
      I think you are getting mixed up. The small grey cable is the ADSL cable which connects the router to the telephone line. The ethernet cable is the one that runs from the port on the back of your router to your PC, Sky supply them in yellow. You need both of them.

      How many telephone sockets do you have? If you only have one, then you don't even need a filtered faceplate, a plug in filter will do just as well. Plug your router into it using the grey cable and run an ethernet cable from there to your PC. That is all you need do. Measure the exact length of ethernet cable you need and order it from run-IT-direct, Custom Leads You need RJ45 plugs at both ends.

      If you have more than one phone socket in your house then order a filtered faceplate at the same time.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Extension for broadband only

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      Sorry if this has already been ruled out but you would be better putting the router nearer the master socket and then run the ethernet from the router to the PC.

      The closer the router is to the main BT line the less it will affet the speed.
      Yes, that is the best way. Using a filtered faceplate isn't going to do very much otherwise, except maybe avoiding the need for ADSL filters in the other sockets. The "ADSL" output on faceplate filters isn't filtered at all - any noise picked up by the extension wiring will be fed directly to the router.

    5. #14
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Extension for broadband only

      Using a filtered faceplate means the ADSL siginal is seperated away from any internal wiring with the bell wire(which is the cause of most interference). Users should always try to have their modem/router plugged into the master socket with a filtered faceplate, if this is not possible then a filtered faceplate with dedicated ADSL extension is the best alternative.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    6. #15
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Extension for broadband only

      A 10 metre dedicated ADSL extension can pick up a lot of noise, so I wouldn't be inclined to use the word "best" in this context

    7. #16
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Extension for broadband only

      What do you suggest if the user can NOT plug the modem/router into the master socket?
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    8. #17
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Extension for broadband only

      The word "best" suggests that it might be almost as good. In my house, a router on a 10m (or so) extension produced 7dB more noise - hardly "next best". There's very few instances where the router can't be placed within a few metres of the master socket.

    9. #18
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Extension for broadband only

      Sorry but i disagree with you there, plenty of people do not have a power socket anywhere near the master socket, if this wasn't the case then we wouldn't sell many ADSL extension kits-we do! ADSL is different from install to install, in our experience(we install data cabling) adding an ADSL extension if propery wired(away from most sources of noise) makes no difference to the ADSL performance what so ever.

      Was your extension dedicated ADSL?(ie, no bell wire).

      As i have said, users should always try to have their modem/router plugged into the master socket with a filtered faceplate, if this is not possible then a filtered faceplate with dedicated ADSL extension is the best alternative.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    10. #19
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Extension for broadband only

      My own set-up has a filter faceplate, with all extensions run from it in the normal manner. For adsl, I have a 5 metre cat5 extension, RJ45 on one end RJ11 on the other, and this works just as well as plugging directly into the Test socket/filter faceplate. When I was with BT Broadband, I had the router right next to the master, but as it is in the loft and Sky insist you use their router, I throught I had better put it somewhere a bit cooler. It gets very hot up there in the summer.

    11. #20
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Extension for broadband only

      That reminds me of an install we did for someone-wanted the patch cabinet in the loft(it was July when i installed it!), not heard back from them, if you get a patch cabinet you can then fit a fan tray, however you may hear the fans in a modern house!!!!!!!!
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION