Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    drop cable into NTL box

    This is a discussion on drop cable into NTL box within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, any helpwould be great BT recently came and put me a drop cable in from the telegraph post to ...

    1. #1
      dubbsy's Avatar
      dubbsy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01582
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      drop cable into NTL box

      Hi, any helpwould be great
      BT recently came and put me a drop cable in from the telegraph post to my house as part of the sky package, (i was with ntl)
      However he just run the drop cable into my outside ntl grey box, and used gel connectors in this box to connect to the cable that runs into the house. so my drop cable terminates outside + inside the house the master box has NTL an logo on it.( is this ok )??

      My question is can i piggy back from the drop cable ends in the external ntl box & run a cable to where i want to connect my sky router ? or will i have to make an extension from my inside "NTL master " ?
      I am keen to get the best possible connection as the BB speed is rubbish with just 0.41mb


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      briancst1's Avatar
      briancst1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NIBYS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: drop cable into NTL box

      Looks like the BT engineer took the quick way round the job he should have installed a BT master socket but not sure about the piggy backing though will find out

    4. #3
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: drop cable into NTL box

      No technical reason why you can't piggy back off-will the extension be just for ADSL? Consider one of these :-

      NTE2000 ADSL Extension Kit, 10M
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: drop cable into NTL box

      You should not be making any connections to the BT line or even the little connectors they fitted, you can and should only connect after the termination inside the master socket.

      From there you can do what you like, be it run the cable back outside and around or through the house but I repeat, do not just tie into the BT cable before the Master socket termination, you must do it from the faceplate, terminals 5 & 2.
      Last edited by Smithy99; 28-04-09 at 05:30 PM.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: drop cable into NTL box

      I think a call to BT or Sky if that is who arranged it, may be in order, they should not be using NTL hardware, especially as they will be charging about 200. They should do the job properly, not the cheapest way possible.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: drop cable into NTL box

      While there is no technical reason why the Openreach drop should not be connected to NTL wiring and master socket, this is not good practice, as it will cause no end of confusion should you ever need a visit from Openreach for a fault, and a less experanced tech cannot find an Openreach master.
      As for running an extension from the external box, dont. Do it from the master.

    8. #7
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: drop cable into NTL box

      While there is no technical reason why they can't do it the fact is that NTL may throw a fit if they find out that BT have done that and you could be facing a big load of trouble if you want to go back to NTL in the future.

      Also NTL/Virgin have been known to pop round and make sure a customer who has left hasn't reconnected their equipment and using a hacking device to get free TV, they could possibly disconnect it thinking that it is their line.

      Get it sorted and get a complaint into whoever did it.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    9. #8
      dubbsy's Avatar
      dubbsy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01582
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: drop cable into NTL box

      Thanks , sounds like I need to call someone, any ideas who I should contact and what numbers to call. e.g. is is one for BT open reach, or sould i go direct to sky, and hang on the line for hours ?

    10. #9
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: drop cable into NTL box

      You'd have to call whoever is dealing with your line rental.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: drop cable into NTL box

      If Sky arranged the installation, you will have to call them. I would play it safe and also get something into writing about your concerns. You can use the KANA Form for this. This will be acknowledged and you will have something to refer to.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION