Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 28

    Connecting Connect

    This is a discussion on Connecting Connect within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Perhaps some of you guys can help me. My question is how to connect to my PC. At present my ...

    1. #1
      Mike Cooper's Avatar
      Mike Cooper is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Barnsley
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Connecting Connect

      Perhaps some of you guys can help me. My question is how to connect to my PC.
      At present my phone socket is in my front room. From there I have run an extension(2 metres) to the bottom of the stairs where I have wired a normal phone socket. From there I have a filter then I connect my phone to the filter and run a 15m flat phone extension wire up to my computer room from the filter. The phone extension wire is plugged in to my router (the white Netgear one DG 834 I think) and finally a yellow Ethernet cable?? to my computer.
      In the past I've just been happy thay I could get on the Internet and do a little online racing. I didn't have the time or inclination to do any more.
      But now I'm out of work and have more time on my hands than I care to think about I thought it was a good time to tidy up.
      So if any of you guys can advise me on how I could re-do the cabling a) to tidy things up and b) maybe get a better(faster) connection. At the moment I am on Sky Connect (and at 61 might be on that til I die. Cos Sky has been promising more for 3 years now)
      I have done the speedtester thing and get the following
      Download stream 1696
      Upload stream 448
      IP Profile 1250
      Act throughput 1000 approx

      Any helpful comments welcome and feel free to snigger

      Please be aware I am an absolute numpty with anything electrical so KISS please


      Mike


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Connecting Connect

      Ok, ideally you want the router as close to the main socket as possible. If this is not possible then better to run an ADSL extension direct to where the router would go.

      Your shopping list would include an NTE5 socket(if you don't have one?), a filtered faceplate & an ADSL extension kit, take a look at this thread as the situation is similar :-

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/cabli...questions.html
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Connecting Connect

      Just as a test, take your stats from the position you are now, then plug the router direct into a filter on the Test socket and take them from there. From the sound of your set up, you are loosing a lot of speed. With Connect you will not see an increase in speed, what you will see is an increase in the noise margin.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      Mike Cooper's Avatar
      Mike Cooper is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Barnsley
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connecting Connect

      If it helps I've got these stats

      System Up Time 913:26:25
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1638985 2362308 0 132 1292 551:40:23
      LAN 10M/100M 2406299 1508504 0 842 65 913:26:22
      WLAN 11M/54M 1131123 1018348 0 345 68 913:26:14

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1696 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 59.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 11.5 db 19.0 db

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Connecting Connect

      Is that from the Test socket?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Mike Cooper's Avatar
      Mike Cooper is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Barnsley
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connecting Connect

      no from my router stats

      mike

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Connecting Connect

      See the Test socket link in my sig.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      Mike Cooper's Avatar
      Mike Cooper is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Barnsley
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connecting Connect

      these are the router stats from the test socket. i have brought comp downstairs so no long extension

      System Up Time 00:23:35
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 3245 4183 0 1022 4410 00:15:28
      LAN 10M/100M 4422 3442 0 3029 740 00:23:33
      WLAN 11M/54M 132 0 0 22 0 00:23:25

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2848 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 57.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 12.0 db 21.0 db

      hope this helps

      mike

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Connecting Connect

      Most of your problem seems to be with your internal wiring/extensions. The stats from your Test socket show that you are probably capped at 2848kbps, with a potential to rise to about 4+ Mbs. If you want this speed you will have to sort out your internal wiring by fitting a filtered faceplate and plugging your router into it. You can use a short RJ 11 cable to connect the router and a long RJ45 cable to connect to your PC or a long RJ11 cable to move your router close to your PC. Up to 15 would work OK in this case.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      Mike Cooper's Avatar
      Mike Cooper is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Barnsley
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connecting Connect

      In your opinion which would be best to use as the long option

      And many thanks to all for your help

      Mike

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION