Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Cabling through walls

    This is a discussion on Cabling through walls within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I am thinking of converting the loft in a home office/study. The plan is to run either cat5 or a ...

    1. #1
      naza911's Avatar
      naza911 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stechford
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Birmingham UK
      Posts
      188
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Cabling through walls

      I am thinking of converting the loft in a home office/study. The plan is to run either cat5 or a normal twisted pair cable from the master socket straight upto the loft with the ADSL nation faceplate on the master socket and have then new socket in the loft for Internet Only.
      Seeing as the plaster will be taken of from the walls in various places,a nad the new stair case, I was wondering if there would be any problems in terms of noise or speed reduction if the new cable to the loft for the phone signal if all of length of the cable ran through the plaster, in a similar way to electrical cables. At the moment the phone cables are exposed or run through joist.
      Also which cable would be better to use in this case, as telephone cable has 3 pairs and so does cat 5 but one is quite a bit thicker then the other.

      Thanks for your help.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Devil_Spawn's Avatar
      Devil_Spawn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      244
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Cabling through walls

      pretty sure ethernet is your best bet.

    4. #3
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Cabling through walls

      As devil says use ethernet (cat5e) and there should be no detriment by hiding it in the plaster.


    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Cabling through walls

      If the distance isn't too great, why not use a good quality RJ11 cable plugged into the faceplate. Up to 15m of sheathed cable buried in plaster should not give you any problems. If you need a corded phone by the router, then connecting to the A-B terminals of the faceplate with another filtered dual faceplate at the loft end would be the way to go. If you are using Cat5-6 cable, remember it has to be solid core to fit the IDC connectors in the boxes. Technically there is no advantage in using Cat over CW 1308 TP, after all there might be over a mile of it between your house and the exchange.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Cabling through walls

      Just make sure any cable is not laid next to mains cable for the length of the run.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION