Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Internet Speed and Telephone Sockets

    This is a discussion on Internet Speed and Telephone Sockets within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I've had a house alarm connected to the internet socket yesterday this seems to have made my internet slower! is ...

    1. #1
      neomilan's Avatar
      neomilan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Edgware
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Internet Speed and Telephone Sockets

      I've had a house alarm connected to the internet socket yesterday

      this seems to have made my internet slower!

      is this because of the alarm being connected through the telephone socket or because of other factors (like my ISP being silly etc.)

      Thanks


      extra info: i have a telephone socket in my room
      before the alarm was fitted i just had the broadband filter and the internet calbe running to my router
      after the alarm, there were wires connected inside the telephone socket box, so open wires were put straight inside he BT telephone socket
      then after that was all connected up, it was put back together and the filter and internet calbe were re added
      since then, my internet has run slower than usualy
      download speeds used to run around 500kbps
      they're now less than 200kbps


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      neomilan's Avatar
      neomilan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Edgware
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Internet Speed and Telephone Sockets

      Also:

      the alarm cabling goes straight inside the telephone box, it does not connect to the front face, the wire was fed into the box through the side and inside the box the metals were all connected up to their appropriate positions, nothing was connected to the front...

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Internet Speed and Telephone Sockets

      We need Brian here, but I a pretty sure an alarm should not be connected direct to the incoming wires. The alarm must run through a filter, the same as everything else connected to the line. It could be the alarm has a built in filter, but from what you describe, it is not working very well.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Internet Speed and Telephone Sockets

      an alarm should go through a filter, one of these infact :-

      ADSL Filter-Hard Wired
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    6. #5
      gollygosh's Avatar
      gollygosh is offline Banned
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Internet Speed and Telephone Sockets

      If it was a firm who installed the alarm, get them back to do it properly.

    7. #6
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Internet Speed and Telephone Sockets

      Alarm fitters love to do this sort of thing because it provides a connection which cannot be disconnected by mistake, however it is no good with broadband,
      The right way to do this, is to.

      (1) Get a filter faceplate, and run the connection to the alarm panel directly from the filtered output on it, along with all the other extension sockets in the normal manner.

      (2) If a filter faceplate cant be used ( because the router cannot be sited at the master, and a deicated unfiltered extension is unacceptable) then the hard wired filter like the one from Run-It-Direct is a fine.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION