Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 20 of 20

    Telephone Extension

    This is a discussion on Telephone Extension within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; And this is the correct NTE5 socket? BT Socket, Master, NTE5 Type...

    1. #11
      ANDREWGEORGE404's Avatar
      ANDREWGEORGE404 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Altrincham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Altrincham
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Telephone Extension

      And this is the correct NTE5 socket? BT Socket, Master, NTE5 Type


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Telephone Extension

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      Yes and get one from dave at Run-it-direct as theres are the latest and no doubt come with Openreach instructions
      Same spec but no Openreach instructions(Only BT allowed them for the NTE5,the NTE2000/2005 filtered faceplates come with Openreach instructions though!). Fitting instructions can be found on our forums mind. Do you plug a phone into the hallway point?
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    4. #13
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Telephone Extension

      Quote Originally Posted by ANDREWGEORGE404 View Post
      And this is the correct NTE5 socket? BT Socket, Master, NTE5 Type
      Yep, that's the one. Check out this link though-you get an IDC tool FOC which you will need if hardwiring an extension :-

      BT IPlate (Interstitial Plate) Alternative
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    5. #14
      ANDREWGEORGE404's Avatar
      ANDREWGEORGE404 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Altrincham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Altrincham
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Telephone Extension

      Quote Originally Posted by RUNITDIRECT View Post
      Same spec but no Openreach instructions(Only BT allowed them for the NTE5,the NTE2000/2005 filtered faceplates come with Openreach instructions though!). Fitting instructions can be found on our forums mind. Do you plug a phone into the hallway point?
      No, there's no phone in the hallway. Just one phone in the living room which is plugged into the extension. I'm still weighing up giving this a go. It can't be that hard surely.

    6. #15
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Telephone Extension

      In which case there is no point fitting a filtered faceplate to the NTE5. I'd go with what i said before, fit an NTE5, install new cable to filtered socket. It's not hard, no. Connect one end of cable to 2 & 5 on rear of front NTE5 faceplate, connect to corresponding pins on socket at other end. Plug router into RJ45 port and telephone into BT port. Job done!
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    7. #16
      ANDREWGEORGE404's Avatar
      ANDREWGEORGE404 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Altrincham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Altrincham
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Telephone Extension

      Thanks for all your help. It looks straightforward. I'll give it a go. What's the worst that can happen?

    8. #17
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Telephone Extension

      The worst-you end up with no change, the best-ADSL speed improves 2 wires-not a lot can go wrong
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    9. #18
      ANDREWGEORGE404's Avatar
      ANDREWGEORGE404 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Altrincham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Altrincham
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Telephone Extension

      Plus, I don't have temporary electrical power extension trailing across my living room to my router as i have now. Thanks again.

    10. #19
      ANDREWGEORGE404's Avatar
      ANDREWGEORGE404 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Altrincham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Altrincham
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Telephone Extension

      Thanks once again guys. The stuff i ordered turned up the next day and I did as you said last night. Didn't take long and now I don't have power leads everywhere and my router syncs and about 1.5 mb/s higher than before with less errors. I wouldn't have had a clue where to start but it's amazing how easy it was when pointed in the right direction.
      Cheers,
      Andy.

    11. #20
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Telephone Extension

      Good stuff
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION