Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 21

    new NTE5 master - signal worse

    This is a discussion on new NTE5 master - signal worse within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Why on earth would you recommend a socket that replaces the NTE5 in this case? Pointless, nothing wrong with the ...

    1. #11
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: new NTE5 master - signal worse

      Why on earth would you recommend a socket that replaces the NTE5 in this case? Pointless, nothing wrong with the Pressac NTE2000/2005, it's what BT fit afterall!
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      skypaulusplus's Avatar
      skypaulusplus Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: new NTE5 master - signal worse

      well, its MY recomendation and MY point of view

    4. #13
      peterg's Avatar
      peterg is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: crawley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: new NTE5 master - signal worse

      paul

      the ebay picture is identical to the one I have. with download sync dropping from 5440 to 480 I think I have established new faceplate is faulty.

      peterg

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: new NTE5 master - signal worse

      Have you plugged into the TEST socket and taken your stats from there. Also check that all you extensions are dead with the faceplate removed. Until you do that, nothing is proved, although you may very well be correct.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: new NTE5 master - signal worse

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Have you plugged into the TEST socket and taken your stats from there. Also check that all you extensions are dead with the faceplate removed. Until you do that, nothing is proved, although you may very well be correct.
      According to the info emailed to us the faceplate is faulty without doubt. Why we are getting emails for support from another companies sales is another matter.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: new NTE5 master - signal worse

      Sorry, you have obviously been informed that the Test socket has been tried, but as it does not appear on the post, I was unaware of that.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: new NTE5 master - signal worse

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Sorry, you have obviously been informed that the Test socket has been tried, but as it does not appear on the post, I was unaware of that.
      Yes we had more info emailed to us, the OP really should have kept it all on here as we didn't even sell this one but helped out all the same
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: new NTE5 master - signal worse

      we didn't even sell this one but helped out all the same
      Good for customer relations, I hope other members make a note of how helpful you are.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #19
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: new NTE5 master - signal worse

      To be honest we help out where we can,obviously we'd prefer people came to us but even if they didn't we'll advise I think the OP emailed us as the post had been viewed a few times but had no replies(he mentioned this in the email). We had one faceplate that exhibited the same problem and it was a small solder short, obviously the OP should return it but i'd almost guarantee it will be the same problem. To the OP-why didn't you contact Clarity out of interest?
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    11. #20
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: new NTE5 master - signal worse

      Hi Dave,
      I have seen this problem before with modified plates. I understand that Clarity is not the best firm to deal with when it comes to problems with their kit.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION