Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 19 of 19

    BT Wiring/ADSL Connection

    This is a discussion on BT Wiring/ADSL Connection within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; You could use this to tidy up the joint :- BT 77A Junction Box (6 way IDC connectors)...

    1. #11
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: BT Wiring/ADSL Connection

      You could use this to tidy up the joint :-

      BT 77A Junction Box (6 way IDC connectors)
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Los7's Avatar
      Los7 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Harlow
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT Wiring/ADSL Connection

      Brain, that wire comes in from outside (as in outside in the open). I live in a flat that only has 2 floors. Me up here, and someone underneath. I'm not sure where the wire comes from outside, i cant remember, its dark now so i'll have to check tomorrow. Does it make any difference to my plans inside?

    4. #13
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: BT Wiring/ADSL Connection

      No, I was just wondering if you had a further juntion box you could run a new cable from and aviod re-making the joint.
      If the box is outside your flat then leave well alone because it will contain the wiring for the other flat and if you interfer with it you may effect their line. Just re-make the wiring in your own flat.

    5. #14
      Controls's Avatar
      Controls is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01522
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT Wiring/ADSL Connection

      I seem to be having issues with the same wiring.
      I have the V1.0 ADS from BT and I was advised that they disconnected some wiring to the upper floors of the house, as my office is up there I need to re connect.

      Can anyone advise which wires need to be connected and where.
      Master in the hall has BLUE /2 RED/3 WHITE/5, I then have three wires remaining, white/orange, white/green, green all loose in the wall.
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails BT Wiring/ADSL Connection-img_0645.jpg  

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: BT Wiring/ADSL Connection

      Do you have another working extension? There does not appear to be any spare 'live' wires at the master socket. If you don't have another working extension then the wires may be disconnected at your office socket.

      If you want to use your router on the office socket, you may have to change the faceplate to one with unfiltered connections as I don't think that type has them. Brian, the phone guru will be along and and he may be able to advise some more.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: BT Wiring/ADSL Connection

      If that cable loops to where you office is you will need to change the faceplate for one of these :-

      BT ADSL Faceplate for NTE5 Linebox, 6 Way Version(NTE2005)

      At the office end you would then connect one of these :-

      BT Socket, Master, ADSL Filtered With RJ45/RJ11

      Connect the green pair to A & B on the new faceplate & at the other end connect to 2 & 5 on the new line box.

      Are you sure that cable loops to where you office is though?(ie, the green pair are spare are there??)
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    8. #17
      Controls's Avatar
      Controls is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01522
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT Wiring/ADSL Connection

      Ok,
      I have working phones on three floors but the BT guy said he just disconnected the ADSL form the upper floors due to cable seperation issue which is now resolved.

    9. #18
      Controls's Avatar
      Controls is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01522
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT Wiring/ADSL Connection

      This is theimage of the office connections at this time, with the greens wrapped back.
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails BT Wiring/ADSL Connection-dsc_0157.jpg  

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: BT Wiring/ADSL Connection

      Your wiring must go from box to box. What you will have to do is check the box on the line before it gets to your office. It must be disconnected there. You are looking for blue/white and white/blue which are not connected. These should be put on the number 2 and 5 terminals respectively. As pointed out previously, these are carrying a filtered signal and will not work with broadband.

      If you wanted to use the socket for your router, it should be possible to use the green wires, but these would have to be jointed within the other extension boxes, to give you continuous wires from the Master socket to the Office socket. You will also need an alternate master faceplate as the one your have does not have the necessary terminals. I don't think you really need a filtered faceplate in the office, a plug in filter will do the job.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION