Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 22

    Help!!

    This is a discussion on Help!! within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; My voice line has recently become very noisy so I decided to remove my ADSL faceplate to try the phone ...

    1. #1
      steadyeddie's Avatar
      steadyeddie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: embread
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      62
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Help!!

      My voice line has recently become very noisy so I decided to remove my ADSL faceplate to try the phone in the test socket.
      This was clear so I replaced the faceplate but now my phone extentions wont work. One of the wires had come loose so I reseated it but the extentions still wont work.
      I'm wondering if the faceplate has become faulty?
      Or maybe i've not reseated the wires correctly?
      Any ideas?
      I've attached a photo, sorry about the quality though.
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Help!!-image_015.jpg  


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      steadyeddie's Avatar
      steadyeddie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: embread
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      62
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help!!

      Quick update.
      When I plug my router back into the faceplate, this is when the noise starts, so I guess its either the router or the faceplate that's faulty.
      Still doesn't explain why my extentions aren't working though.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Help!!

      You have probably seated the wires badly, did you use an IDC tool? Your picture is not too clear, is it a filtered faceplate? If you have modern phones you can remove the wires from terminal 3. These are the ring wires which can cause interference and are not required.

      Sorry I have re-read the post and you do say it is an ADSL faceplate.

      In that case can you plug into the Test socket, using a filter and see what things are like from there?

      If you post clear pictures of your extension plates, I am sure Brian will be able to help.
      Last edited by Isitme; 30-01-09 at 03:20 PM.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Help!!

      That looks like a ADSL Nation XTE-2005. If it is be sure to use a proper IDC tool.

    6. #5
      steadyeddie's Avatar
      steadyeddie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: embread
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      62
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help!!

      I've tried a few things and made a few observations.
      Tried a BB filter in the test socket, the line was quiet but my attenuation went up from 54db to 63db. When I lift the phone receiver the NM drops considerably.
      Put everything back into the faceplate (XTE2005) and the line is quiet (although the noise fault is intermittent so not sure if this proves anything)
      All the extention wires seem to be seated firmly, although I havent used an IDC tool, but the extentions still dont work.
      Not sure what to try next.

    7. #6
      steadyeddie's Avatar
      steadyeddie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: embread
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      62
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help!!

      Is the wiring correct in the faceplate i.e. 2 blue, 2 orange and 2 white?

    8. #7
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Help!!

      You must use the proper tool to seat the wires in the IDC connectors, if you use a screwdriver or something you will damage them, so get a disposible one (or better two) and check the wires properly.

      Wire colours look o.k

    9. #8
      AndyJG's Avatar
      AndyJG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWSHAR (South Harrow)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      187
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts

      Re: Help!!

      It's difficult to see but it looks like the white plastic moulding is missing above the top of the blue wire.I believe it should appear symmetrical like the blue connector below it.
      That might allow the 'jaws' of the IDC connector to move apart and not cut through the insulation to connect with the wire inside.

      Andy

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Help!!

      In an emergency I have used the edge of a credit card to seat the wires, but you are better with the proper tool. They only cost pence in B&Q.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      steadyeddie's Avatar
      steadyeddie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: embread
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      62
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help!!

      Quote Originally Posted by AndyJG View Post
      It's difficult to see but it looks like the white plastic moulding is missing above the top of the blue wire.I believe it should appear symmetrical like the blue connector below it.
      That might allow the 'jaws' of the IDC connector to move apart and not cut through the insulation to connect with the wire inside.

      Andy
      Andy, you are right, I broke one of the mouldings when I first fitted it, but it has worked fine until now. I've ordered a new faceplate now.
      I've bought an IDC tool and tried to reseat the wires but still no joy, will wait for the new faceplate.
      Just out of interest, when I tried the test socket, my attenuation shot up from 54 to 63, does this suggest any problem that may be connected to the noise on the line?
      Thanks for all your help so far.
      Jeff

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION