Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 22

    Help!!

    This is a discussion on Help!! within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; You may have a broken master, try the following. (1) Plug a normal wired phone in the test socket and ...

    1. #11
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Help!!

      You may have a broken master, try the following.
      (1) Plug a normal wired phone in the test socket and give it a waggle close to the plug, is there any crackle? there should not be.
      (2) if all is well, take the master right off and check that the A and B connections are tight, give them a waggle.

      If all is o.k then wait for the new faceplate/IDC tool before going further.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      steadyeddie's Avatar
      steadyeddie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: embread
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      62
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help!!

      Brian
      1.Should the phone go through a BB filter.
      2 Take the whole master socket off the wall? where will the A and B connectors be?

    4. #13
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Help!!

      No plug the phone directly into the test socket. The A and B connections are at the back of the master, so you have to take the socket right off.

    5. #14
      steadyeddie's Avatar
      steadyeddie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: embread
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      62
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help!!

      Brian
      I have taken the master apart, there are 3 screw terminals. I have a white/blue wire attached to A, a blue/white wire attached to B and nothing attached to E.
      It does crackle a bit when I wiggle the plug in the test socket.
      Any ideas

    6. #15
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Help!!

      So long as there is no crackle wgen you waggle the wires on A and B you can put the socket back in the wall/box.
      Now try the phone through a filter and again waggle the plug close to the test socket, Is there still crackle?

    7. #16
      steadyeddie's Avatar
      steadyeddie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: embread
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      62
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help!!

      There is no crackle when I waggle A and B.
      There is also hardly any crackle when the phone is through a filter, so I'm assuming the socket is ok?

    8. #17
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Help!!

      Quote Originally Posted by AndyJG View Post
      It's difficult to see but it looks like the white plastic moulding is missing above the top of the blue wire.I believe it should appear symmetrical like the blue connector below it.
      That might allow the 'jaws' of the IDC connector to move apart and not cut through the insulation to connect with the wire inside.

      Andy
      Certainly looks like it, if you want an IDC tool let me know and i'll get one posted FOC
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    9. #18
      steadyeddie's Avatar
      steadyeddie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: embread
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      62
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help!!

      Quote Originally Posted by RUNITDIRECT View Post
      Certainly looks like it, if you want an IDC tool let me know and i'll get one posted FOC
      I've managed to get hold of one, thanks a lot for the offer.

    10. #19
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Help!!

      Yes sounds like the socket is fine, when you get the new faceplate, give the bit that plugs in the test socket a squirt of WD40. (you can get it at tesco or a hardware shop) this helps to clean the socket and ensure a good contact.

    11. #20
      steadyeddie's Avatar
      steadyeddie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: embread
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      62
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help!!

      Will do Brian.
      One last thing, can you confirm that the wiring is correct for me i.e. 2xBlue/White, 2xOrange/White, 2xWhite/Blue

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION