Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 42

    Extension/Rerouting Question

    This is a discussion on Extension/Rerouting Question within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; SO if its screw wires i can get rid of the white wire altogether? If not i will keep the ...

    1. #11
      matthewprince's Avatar
      matthewprince is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Amstrad SkyHD
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      77
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Extension/Rerouting Question

      SO if its screw wires i can get rid of the white wire altogether?

      If not i will keep the wiring intact master socket end and then just cut the white cable to size and just rewire it at the junction box (its only 2 wires then.)

      I will have to do my own crimping to connect the outside cable to the insiude then. BT will definitely know ive tampered though then as it wont have the black connectors..

      Matt


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Extension/Rerouting Question

      Yes. To recap.

      (1) If the master has screw connections for the A and B terminals then you can connect the drop wire directly to them. If not then you will have to join the internal wire to the drop wire, using new crimps. (my owm view is to solder them and insulate with heat srink)

      Have a look and see what your master has. If you can connect directly to the master this is a good thing, the fewer joints the better.

    4. #13
      matthewprince's Avatar
      matthewprince is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Amstrad SkyHD
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      77
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Extension/Rerouting Question

      I will have a look in a bit (got to put my kids to bed now)

      Would BT know ive tamprered then? (if i connect it directly to the master)

      Matt

    5. #14
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Extension/Rerouting Question

      BT cannot tell remotely that you have moved the master, and as long as you do not have more than 3 metres of external cable inside you home they will not mind should they ever see it. So long as you make a good job of the move there is no reason why you should ever need BT to visit.

    6. #15
      matthewprince's Avatar
      matthewprince is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Amstrad SkyHD
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      77
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Extension/Rerouting Question

      Thanks Brian for the help.

      So when i ordered the BT line i had to pay 125 (which sky refunded me) , would they have allowed me to have the master socket upstairs?

      To make my story plausable incase i ever need to call them out.

      Matt

    7. #16
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Extension/Rerouting Question

      Yes, as long as the master will be easy to get at (this is so that it is easy to connect to the test socket if there is a fault) you can have the master socket where you like.

    8. #17
      matthewprince's Avatar
      matthewprince is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Amstrad SkyHD
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      77
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Extension/Rerouting Question

      whats the test socket?

    9. #18
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Extension/Rerouting Question

      When you remove the faceplate screws of your master socket, you will find that it pulls away and exposes a socket. This is the test socket and it,s function is to allow you to connect directly to the line. If you have a look in your phone book it explains all about it under how to deal with faults.

    10. #19
      matthewprince's Avatar
      matthewprince is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Amstrad SkyHD
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      77
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Extension/Rerouting Question

      So whats the benefit of the test socket? Also whats an adsl filtered faceplate?

      Matt

    11. #20
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Extension/Rerouting Question

      For you there is no benefit, but if you had lots of extension sockets then the test socket would allow you to connect to the phone line with the extension wiring disconnected so you could tell if your internal wiring had a fault.

      ADSL faceplates allow you to connect your router to the phone line and prevent any interferance from your extension wiring causing problems. As you have no other sockets other than the master, it would be of little use to you.

     

     
    Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION