Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 21

    My Internet Speed is too low!

    This is a discussion on My Internet Speed is too low! within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; You could remove the Ping results as these are irrelevant. That is from "ath0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1B:2F:79:E5:7E" to "255 ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: My Internet Speed is too low!

      You could remove the Ping results as these are irrelevant. That is from "ath0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1B:2F:79:E5:7E" to "255 -87.1250".

      Can you confirm that these are from the Test socket? They show an error rate of about 1%, which is not too good. It would indicate faults on your external line. Stats from your normal position and from the Test socket are really necessary as they are required for a proper diagnosis.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      pranavtulsian's Avatar
      pranavtulsian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01625
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Internet Speed is too low!

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      You could remove the Ping results as these are irrelevant. That is from "ath0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1B:2F:79:E5:7E" to "255 -87.1250".

      Can you confirm that these are from the Test socket? They show an error rate of about 1%, which is not too good. It would indicate faults on your external line. Stats from your normal position and from the Test socket are really necessary as they are required for a proper diagnosis.
      Oh ic, Ill remove it next time I post the stats, now its too late to edit :S.

      Those were the stats from the extension socket.

      I will post both the stats of the test socket and extension socket later on, but I dont know what to test with (with or without the weird thing that I talked about before).

      Here are the pictures:

      This is how it looked when I first found it:

      This is the master socket (notice the T logo):

      This is inside the master socket (test socket):

      This is the extra 'weird' socket I was talking about (notice the BT logo):


      Tell me if I should test with the weird socket or not please, thanks.
      Last edited by pranavtulsian; 21-12-08 at 01:36 PM.

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: My Internet Speed is too low!

      Your 'weird' socket is simply an extension. Take it out altogether and plug straight into the Master socket using a filter and take your stats. Then take the stats from the Test socket, the one that is exposed when you remove the faceplate. While the faceplate is of, just check if any of your other extensions are working. Where is your router usually plugged in?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      pranavtulsian (31-03-11)

    6. #14
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Internet Speed is too low!

      did you contact sky yet to see if the line is capped yet? if your on-net it wont take long for tier one to see if the speed needs to manually adjusted and if your in your test socket without any extensions and you have a microfilter connected before every device on your line it shouldn't take to long to get it sorted out(if this is the issue). if your using wireless there is no need to use extension cables anyway so it would be best to just leave the router in the master socket.

    7. #15
      pranavtulsian's Avatar
      pranavtulsian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01625
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Internet Speed is too low!

      I just called Sky today, they said they will check my line and see what speed I can handle then call me back later, hopefully Ill get around 3.5Mb *fingers crossed*, thanks for your help guys, hopefully this should solve everything, when I get an answer back from them I will come back and post here.

    8. #16
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Internet Speed is too low!

      Good luck with that one. mmmmm..... They can pretty much seen what you can handle straight away.

    9. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: My Internet Speed is too low!

      What about your stats from the Test socket? Your internal wiring/extensions are probably the cause of your problems.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      pranavtulsian (31-03-11)

    11. #18
      pranavtulsian's Avatar
      pranavtulsian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01625
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Internet Speed is too low!

      They upped my speed, now the stats are (extension socket, I had to move it back so my desktop could get internet):

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2496 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 51.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.4 db 13.0 db

      Before moving I just did speed test on master/test and now extension, they all get the same speed, howcome the master/test socket did not get a better speed?

      Well Im happy now, I know its not that fast but its pretty fast, so thanks for your help guys.

      Btw I have a question, you know the speed that they show in the NETGEAR router site, is that the actual speed Im getting, or the max speed I can get?
      Last edited by pranavtulsian; 24-12-08 at 12:57 AM.

    12. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: My Internet Speed is too low!

      they all get the same speed, howcome the master/test socket did not get a better speed?
      That is because you are still capped. I can almost guarantee that although the speed in the test socket is the same, the noise margin would be much higher. You should be getting 4-5Mbs.

      The speed you connect at is the maximum your line can handle at the point in time. Your actual download speed should be at least 85% -90% of the connection speed. This is down to overheads which are necessary for the proper functioning of the connection.

      I am fairly sure you could do better speedwise, but if you are happy, that is the main thing.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    13. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      pranavtulsian (31-03-11)

    14. #20
      pranavtulsian's Avatar
      pranavtulsian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01625
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Internet Speed is too low!

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      That is because you are still capped. I can almost guarantee that although the speed in the test socket is the same, the noise margin would be much higher. You should be getting 4-5Mbs.

      The speed you connect at is the maximum your line can handle at the point in time. Your actual download speed should be at least 85% -90% of the connection speed. This is down to overheads which are necessary for the proper functioning of the connection.

      I am fairly sure you could do better speedwise, but if you are happy, that is the main thing.
      I am happy but ofc I would like a higher speed lol.

      My noise margin is only ~7 though which means speed cannot go higher without becoming very unstable?

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION