Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 22

    Moving from old socket to faceplate

    This is a discussion on Moving from old socket to faceplate within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, ive been on the forum before in regards to slow speeds (fluctuates from 2mb to 150 kpbs) sky keep ...

    1. #1
      richje100's Avatar
      richje100 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Moving from old socket to faceplate

      Hi,

      ive been on the forum before in regards to slow speeds (fluctuates from 2mb to 150 kpbs) sky keep saying that i dont have broadband & then i speak to someone else & they find me straight away.
      Im starting to think if its to do with my socket.

      My origanal master socket was the old songle plate type in my kitchen. i cant afford for BT to replace it in my living room when the cable comes in from outside so i managed to get hold of a socket witha test plate.
      I know i shouldnt have but ill face teh consequences if anything happens. ive cut through the cable & installed the new socket. My cable was made up of 5 wires but the new socket only needs 2 of them.
      used triall & error to find out which onesw i need Ive installed them.
      Now, im getting problems with d/l speeds etc.. ive had BT out to test the line & they cant find anything wring with my line but they didnt look inside the socket.
      can anyone help incase ive messed it up? im also getting noise problems and the internet d+
      oes sometimes cut off but then reconnect.

      any help would be much appreacited

      rich


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Moving from old socket to faceplate

      Is the cable you have fitted the master to an overhead one?

    4. #3
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Moving from old socket to faceplate

      What type of NTE5 have you fitted? Latest revision with IDC connectors or screw connectors? Does the phone work Ok or is there noise on the line?
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    5. #4
      richje100's Avatar
      richje100 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving from old socket to faceplate

      Brian69 - answer to your question, i cannot see a box by my window (where the cable enters the house). it comes thru the wall & then along the skirting. it disappered in my living room door fram & them re-appears in my kitche on an old socket. This was before i put a enw socket in.

      RUNITDIRECT - im not sure of the type, it has 2 screw connectors & on the test plate, there are 5 (i think) grooves for some wiring. sometimes i get noise on the line.

      thanks guys

    6. #5
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Moving from old socket to faceplate

      Sorry. what I should have said is does the cable which comes into your home arrive underground or is it from a pole and overhead. I understand that you have now fitted a master socket to this cable where it enters and that you say it has five wires and you worked out whic two to use.

    7. #6
      richje100's Avatar
      richje100 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving from old socket to faceplate

      is from an overhead pole

    8. #7
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Moving from old socket to faceplate

      I think Brian may be hinting at the type of cable that the drop cable is? As you have a screw NTE5 so long as the insulation was stripped off carefully i think Brians theory may be put to rest? When you say you sometimes get noise on the line is this crackling or high pitched noise?
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    9. #8
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Moving from old socket to faceplate

      No I was just trying to work out what the colours should be. You should have connected the A and B terminals to the orange and white pair of the cable, you can ignore the green and black ones. The single wire left is not part of the circuit but is to support the cable span. As Dave says, so long as you have not damaged the cable all should be well.
      Had the cable been underground, and you say had only five cores, this would indicate that you had cut one off! (telephone cables work in pairs so there would always be an even number) And underground cables are oftern connected right back to the last DP so it is possible to get a noisy signal on the wrong pair (If all the A's had been connected you could pick the wrong one and end up with a split pair).

      But as it is an overhead line, all will be well
      Last edited by Brian69; 12-12-08 at 10:22 AM.

    10. #9
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,253
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Moving from old socket to faceplate

      arhh, sorry, i was thinking about a nasty type of cable!!
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    11. #10
      richje100's Avatar
      richje100 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving from old socket to faceplate

      i have just checked the colours of the cable just to make sure.
      i have:
      Blue with white bands (connected to B)
      White with blue bands (connected to A)
      White with orange bands
      Orange with white bands

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION