Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 22

    Moving from old socket to faceplate

    This is a discussion on Moving from old socket to faceplate within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; They are internal cable colours, so somewhere there is a junction box where the external cable connects to this cable. ...

    1. #11
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Moving from old socket to faceplate

      They are internal cable colours, so somewhere there is a junction box where the external cable connects to this cable.
      Check this and check that the connections are well made.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      naza911's Avatar
      naza911 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stechford
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Birmingham UK
      Posts
      188
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving from old socket to faceplate

      How did you put the cables into the socket? With your hands or the tool.

      Do you have any extension wiring installed? I assume that the socket looks like the one that is in this picture?
      Sky User - Help and Support for Sky and Sky Broadband - How to test your Master Socket

      On the rear of that is where you would have connected the cables. So was it a set of screws which you put the cable into or and IDC connector. If it was and IDC connector, did you use the IDC puncher tool? With any type of communications cabling the quality of the joint is very important, there needs to be a good pressured contact between the cable and connector, because of the high frequency(relativity speaking) of the current. Just check the connections at the back of the socket. Tighten the screws or if you need a cheap inserter tools B&Q have one:
      Philex Telephone IDC Insertion Tool, 19880HS/04

      It will be enough to for the cables inside one socket, after that it is a little worn out and wont provide good enough joints.

    4. #13
      richje100's Avatar
      richje100 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving from old socket to faceplate

      any idea where i would find the junction box?
      the outside cable enters the house by the window frame but inside the house, there is only the 4 coloured cable? could it be inside the wall?

    5. #14
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Moving from old socket to faceplate

      Where does the cable that comes through the window gom does it go into a box?

      The first thing to be connected to that outside cable should be a master socket.

    6. #15
      naza911's Avatar
      naza911 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stechford
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Birmingham UK
      Posts
      188
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving from old socket to faceplate

      Quote Originally Posted by richje100 View Post
      any idea where i would find the junction box?
      the outside cable enters the house by the window frame but inside the house, there is only the 4 coloured cable? could it be inside the wall?
      Following your cable from outside your house, there should be a box where the cable comes into the house. Like you say, through the window. The Outside cable should be connected to a junction box (One of the ones shown on this site:Telephones UK - Connection Boxes ) Most common one that I have seen would be on of these http://www.telephonesuk.co.uk/images/52a.jpg . From here the cable coming out from the other side should be the cable that runs to your master socket. The reason for this junction box is because the external cable is very hard to bend round corners so they need to change the cable type when the cable enters the house, so that it is easier to installed and replace should damage occur to the inside of the house. Hope that helps at little.

    7. #16
      richje100's Avatar
      richje100 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving from old socket to faceplate

      ive chekced everywhere but cannot find the junction box.before i moved the socket, the same 4 wire cable was connected to an old socket with capacitors in it in my kitchen. the only cable on show is the bit where it comes through my wall in the living room, along the skirting then into the dorr frame. the old socket in the kitche has no cable on show just comes through the skirting.
      outside, there is a 2 core cable i think (flat) coming down from my guttering, entering the window frame. on the same window frame, the white 4 wire cable comes out.
      do you think the person who put in the windows plastered over the junction?
      would BT install a new one free or would i have to pay?

    8. #17
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Moving from old socket to faceplate

      Yes I bet they have, and I bet it's all damp in the hidden box.
      The best way to get this fixed for free, is to pull out the cable a bit on the inside. With any luck it will break. you will loose the line, and Openreach will renew the cable.

    9. #18
      richje100's Avatar
      richje100 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving from old socket to faceplate

      if i pull the cable on the inside, it will pull plaster away, could i do something with the flat cable outside? my father had his cable stolen a few weeks ago but i thought it had a current going through it?

    10. #19
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Moving from old socket to faceplate

      You could try on the outside, but the cable will be very stiff.

    11. #20
      richje100's Avatar
      richje100 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving from old socket to faceplate

      but i wont get electrocuted? if i cut it, i could make out that it was vandalism

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION